Bookishness · Books · Hauls

Spring-Summer Book Haul

Hello again!

I hope everyone is well and you had a lovely weekend. After my last introduction post I wanted to publish something that I’ve been wanting to do for a while now, a book haul. ♥

P1020777 edit
Books Books Books! (sorry for the photo quality)

I am doing this one slightly differently to what I had originally planned, as I have been sitting on all the books that I have been buying since April. However I have yet to read any of them, partly because I wanted to do a post like this and partly because I have been rereading Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance series; a set that I adored as a child. Paolini has some rather long books so it has taken me the best part of a month (I generally read for about an hour or so before bed at the moment) to get through them all. I am currently on the last book in the series so my eye is slowly glancing over at the growing to-be-read pile that I have collected (soon my pretties!).

So here are the books that I have collected in the last two months:

P1020782 edit

1.Malice by John Gwynne– I’ll be honest here, I picked this book up on a whim. I had a voucher for my local Waterstones that I really wanted to spend but I didn’t want to use it to buy any sequels to books I had already read. I was really craving a good old fantasy read rather than the urban-magic styled books I had been recently enjoying. It is Gwynne’s debut series (still ongoing) and it looks like it has been well received by other readers- I’m looking forward to giving it a go!

P1020784 edit

2. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo– I had heard so many good things about this book and the author from other book bloggers I follow on Instagram, which really piqued my interested. The cover is so beautiful and the storyline is right up my street. A band of outcasts working together on a stupid dangerous mission? I’m in. I’m hoping it will be similar to Chris Wooding’s Retribution Falls Series (which I love so so much) and I am really looking forward to checking this book out.

P1020786 edit

3. A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab– Another book that I have been hearing rave reviews about on Instagram. I had previously read the first book in the series A Darker Shade of Magic as a result of other book reviews and I really enjoyed it, so I had to continue the series. I love the idea of different versions of London and I am interested to see how Kell can progress after what he pulled in the first book.

P1020792 edit

4. The Sin-Eater’s Daughter by Melinda Salisbury– The next few books I picked up after discovering Amazon were doing a 3 for £10 book offer on selected paperbacks. Not only is the cover so gorgeous for this book but the blurb really pulled me in. The combination of royalty, fatal magic and emotional tensions sounds really appealing and something that can really get my imagination going.

P1020794 edit

5. My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick- During this Amazon paperback offer I decided to increase the variety in my bookshelf, so instead of more fantasy novels I went for a summer romance read with a more modern, reality-based storyline. Fitzpatrick is a new author for me whom I don’t really know anything about; I do like a good romance now and again and I am hoping that this one doesn’t disappoint.

P1020795 edit

6. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell– Finally we come to the last book in the Amazon offer. I was umm-ing and ahh-ing on this one for a while as I couldn’t decide if the story would be too cliché for me or not. However I am a huge introvert and in the end curiosity won over; I am intrigued to find out how her life progresses with her personality (and maybe she can inspire me too).

Although I have only bought 6 books in the last two months I didn’t want to let my to-be-read pile build too much, so I had stopped myself buying too many. I am so looking forward to getting stuck in to these books, not only to find out what happens but of course it allows me to invest in new reads. Expect reviews of these books in the near future!

Thanks for reading and please do let me know if you have any questions or if there is anything you would like to see from me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

