Books · Tags

Update + Rapid Fire Book Tag!

Hello again guys and girls! I hope you’re all doing well. 🙂

First things first I wanted to give a bit of an update for you. I finished rereading Inheritance on Thursday. Rereading the Eragon series always gives me such a huge sense of accomplishment as the books have so many pages! I think I read all 4 in about 5 or 6 weeks, something I am quite proud of considering I was only reading for an hour or two every night. I have just read Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl in two days too, so expect a review of that very soon!

I had a few ideas about what to post this week, but nothing stood out to me enough to give you some interesting content. Ideally I wanted to post something more lifestyle-based, such as baking or a trip update but uh.. I haven’t been very social recently. My friends have all been busy or moved away so I haven’t done much with my time except read, job-hunt or go to the gym. Although I think this blog will primarily focus on all things books I do want to post about recipes and things, so expect some of that over the summer!

♣ ♣ ♣

As I couldn’t decide on an official topic for this week’s post I thought it would be fun to do the Rapid Fire Book Tag! I originally saw this on Sakina’s blog A Forest of Books and Memories, and she found it on A Girl Reading’s YouTube (the original creator). It looks really interesting, so let’s get straight on to it! 😀

E-Book or Physical Book?
Physical book without a doubt. I read e-books for stories or genres I am unsure about, but if I feel it is a book I will love I always buy the physical copy!

Paperback or Hardback?
Paperback. They are easier to read and carry around (and cheaper too).

Online or In-Store Book Shopping?
Definitely In-Store. I love the experience of bookstore shopping and seeing shelves of books I haven’t yet read. It takes a long time unless I am going in for a specific book, but book stores are a lot more intimate and make me feel happier than shopping online.

Trilogies or Series?
Hmm, I would have to say trilogies. It is a lot easier to manage while still getting my fix of my favourite characters 🙂 Some series’ can be a bit too long!

Heroes or Villains?

Hm thats a toughie. Out of the two I would say heroes, I’m a goody  two shoes really. I like it when there is  a reluctant hero who’s not so full of himself.

A book you want everyone to read?

Retribution falls by Chris Wooding! ❤ My favourite series of all day, Frey is so hopeless I love him.

Recommend an underrated book?
I am still fairly new to book blogging and the social media community and therefore I don’t know what people have heard of or not, but from my bookshelf I would say Sugar by Deirdre Riordan Hall. I really felt for the main character in this one!

The last book you finished?
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

The Last Book You Bought?
Switched by Amanda Hocking (I bought it for only £1!)

Weirdest Thing You’ve Used as a Bookmark?

Hmm, this is a tricky one. I think I’ve used a banana or even another book before!

Used Books: Yes or No?
Yes. I have no problem buying used books or reading books from the library, but to be honest I mainly buy new books.

Top Three Favourite Genres?
Epic Fantasy, Urban Fantasy and YA Contemporary (I’m sure that counts)

Borrow or Buy?
Buy for sure. (Not that I have anyone to borrow from in the first place lol)

Characters or Plot?
I think both are important but a good plot is always a winner.

Long or Short Books?

As long as the plot is really gripping I love longer books, I really like to get invested in the story.

Long or Short Chapters?

Shortish chapters are better- I feel like I’m progressing through the book a lot quicker.

Name The First Three Books You Think Of…

Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan

Retribution Falls by Chris Wooding

Straight Razor Cure by Daniel Polanksy

…some of my favourites and the books I saw at first glance, sorry

Books That Make You Laugh or Cry?

Hmm, I think I prefer books that make me laugh and grin stupidly at the pages 😛

Our World or Fictional Worlds?
Definitely fictional worlds! I love getting my imagination flowing and really immersing myself in creativity.

Audiobooks: Yes or No?

No way! I need to read the words for it to go in properly and for me to truly imagine the world the author has created. I don’t concentrate well with audiobooks and I often don’t like the narrator’s tone during reading.

Do You Ever Judge a Book by its Cover?
Oh gosh yes. A good cover and book title are always the first thing that draws me in.

Book to Movie or Book to TV Adaptations?

I would say that Book to TV means that the series can include more book details than a movie, but to be honest I have really enjoyed some of the biggest Book to Movie deals, such as Harry Potter, LOTR and the Hobbit.

A Movie or TV-Show You Preferred to its Book?

Uhh maybe the Hobbit? I find Tolkien’s writing style hard to read sometimes, and I have never finished his books all the way through (that said I haven’t tried reading LOTR since I was 10, and I have only read the first chapter of the Hobbit in Spanish..).

Series or Standalone’s?

Ooh that’s a toughie. I think I prefer a series for the overall adventure, but standalones are good when you just want a complete story in one go, without having to wait too long for the next installment. Most of my bookshelf contains series’ so I’ll have to go with that!

♣ ♣ ♣

That was fun! I do tend to waffle a lot but I hope I made the answers concise enough! I don’t have anyone to tag (new blogger has no friends) but of course feel free to take part if you want to! Just a reminder that the tag was created by Kate at GirlReading rather than myself!

 

That’s all for today’s post I think. Please do let me know your answers or if you have any more questions for me!

Bye for now! 😀

2 thoughts on “Update + Rapid Fire Book Tag!

  1. Love your answers!!! I really enjoyed The Hobbit, but found LOTR a little harder to read. I guess that’s because The Hobbit was written for children. I did enjoy the movies though! I’ve heard The Hobbit movies weren’t that accurate (I haven’t read the book in a while), but they were so much fun to watch and I loved how realistic everything looked compared to the LOTR movies 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you! 🙂 I feel like I should give the books another go as it has been over 10 years since I last tried reading LOTR, but I still don’t think they will beat the magic the movie franchise has given me. I didn’t realise the movies for the Hobbit were inaccurate though! I guess to make three movies out of one book they had to embellish it a bit- but I totally agree that the improvements in the graphics makes everything look so much better!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

