Bookishness · Books · Hauls

YALC 2016 Haul

Hello again! As I mentioned in my last post I was at YALC on Friday 29th July, which is a UK Young Adult and Literature Convention. I bagged myself a lot of goodies and I really wanted to post a mini haul for you all.

 

Before getting to the good stuff (the books of course) I wanted to quickly summarise the freebies and extra swag I managed to get.

P1020813 edit
#YALCswag

One thing I did try to pick up was the bookmarks. I actually didn’t own any before the event (I’m a corner-flapper, sorry!) so this was super useful for me. I got some really pretty ones too! The dark days one look really cool but I really love the bookmark from publisher My Kinda Book. I love the colours and it has a note on the back so you can jot down where you left off? I also nabbed this cool hand-made bookmark from Skinny Hues on Etsy, aren’t the sunset colours gorgeous?!

P1020812 edit

Another thing I liked was the cool bookish notepad, that has sections for TBR, to review and books to buy. If I remember correctly it was actually in a previous bookish subscription box, I always wanted one of these notepads!

 

Also, one cannot go to YALC and not look at free book samplers. Oh gosh and I did end up with quite a few! 😀 I wont list them all but some notable ones that I received included:

Ink by Alice Broadway

Broken Sky by L.A. Weatherly

Fire Sermon by Francesca Haig

Stranger Tempest by Tom LLoyd

P1020811 edit

I have already read the Ink sampler which I wasn’t a major fan of, but I am excited to read the others to see if they give me any more additions to by TBR/’to buy list’. I’m always on the lookout for new books 🙂

***

Okay, so now for my favourite bit- the books! 😀

Untitled-1 edit

1.The Memory Book by Lara Avery- Okay I felt so lucky with this book; as part of a promo event with Books With Bite they were giving away a YALC early proof edition of Lara Avery’s The Memory Book! This was the first stall I went to and I was so excited that I was being allowed to have a book for free, it was amazing. 😛 The book isn’t due for release until January 2017, so I feel really lucky to be able to read it already! I have heard a few people talking about this book, especially that it is really emotional. It definitely got me intrigued so I’m really looking forward to reading it. Hopefully it wont make me cry too much.

P1020831 edit

2. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han- This was the first book I bought at the event. I tend to scope out the area before deciding what books I’m going to use my money for, but honestly this was a super-quick purchase. Again I have heard SO many good things about this book, and the publishers on the Scholastic stall were super nice and positive for the book, so I caved and bought it straight away. It was only £5 too, I love a good bargain 😀

P1020827 edit

3. The Sleeping Prince by Melinda Salisbury- So this book. This was the one book I knew I wanted to buy at YALC. The cover is just divine, I love it so much. I actually finished the first book The Sin Eater’s Daughter on the train to the convention, so I was itching to find out what the sequel is about (also expect a review of the first book in a week or two). Honestly I bought this book without reading the blurb so I don’t know if it is a continuation of Twylla’s storyline or if it centers on a completely different character- I can’t wait to find out though!

P1020825 edit

4. Talon by Julie Kagawa- This was the last purchase of the day, and one that I umm-ed and ahh-ed about for ages. It was the last hour before I went home and I was looking through each stall about two or three times. I hadn’t satisfied my book cravings so I was looking for something special, particularly a good ol’ fantasy book. Of course there were loads to choose from, but in the end I went with Julie Kagawa’s Talon. I had actually noticed this book on Goodreads about a month ago and the story of dragons disguised as humans did appeal to me. As I started my love of fantasy with Paolini’s Eragon series I thought it was only fitting that I went with another dragon story to end the day. The cover is so so gorgeous and I cannot wait to see this take on the symbol of fantasy.

 

So those were all the books I received. Honestly there were SO many more that I wanted to buy, but I am a bit of a scrooge sometimes. I also made a huge mistake over the stocks and popularity of some books. During the beginning of the day I walked over to the Waterstones stand and saw stacks of books that I had my eye on, such as Schwab’s The Savage Song, Matharu’s The Novice and Green’s Bad Half. I don’t like making rash purchases straight away so I told myself I would have a good look at all the stalls first before deciding whether to buy all those books or not. Yet when I went back about 2 hours later they were all sold out. I honestly couldn’t believe it, I really wanted those books- especially The Novice! 😦  Next time I’ll have to make sure that I buy books I want as soon as I see them, I don’t want to make the same mistake!

 

Okay, that’s a wrap of my YALC haul! If you made it all the way to the end, well done you! You definitely deserve a cookie or something, I do tend to ramble a little when books are concerned 😛 I hope you enjoyed it but please do leave a comment if you have any book chat or suggestions for me!

 

Have a lovely day! 😀

P1020835 edit

3 thoughts on “YALC 2016 Haul

Leave a Reply

