Bookishness · Books · Hauls

August ’16 Book Haul

Hello again everyone! 🙂 How are you all?

 

So I seem to have a book-buying problem. I haven’t even finished all the books I bought during YALC and the rest of summer, yet here I am buying a few more. I was even being a bit reserved with my spending this month, there were SO many that I wanted to buy for the TBR pile! 😛

i want slam

I’m not even sorry. Okay, so let’s get into the treasures I have bought this month:

P1030132 edit

1. The Novice by Taran Matharu~ I’ve had my eyes on this book for a good six months and after the disappointment not nabbing one at YALC I had been on a hunt for a copy of this book all August. I finally managed to buy one at my local Waterstones, I’m super excited to read it! A demon summoning school sounds amazing (I’m a sucker for demons) so I’m looking forward to see how it pans out.

P1030134 edit

2. The Dragon Lords- Fool’s Gold by Jon Hollins~ Oh my gosh I am SO pumped about this book. I first heard about it in a review by Alisha from Reality’s a Bore and it sounds right up my street- like a medieval version of my favourite Ketty Jay series by Chris Wooding ♥. I love the idea of a group of misfits fighting a common cause, with a good dose of satire to match 😀 The book has been likened to The Hobbit mixed with Ocean’s Eleven/Guardians of the Galaxy and I am so so excited to see how it has turned out!!

P1030135 edit

3. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen~ Fool’s Gold was under a Waterstones buy on get one half price offer, and of course I just couldn’t say no. I remember there being a bit of a buzz about this book on my social media earlier this year, despite the book being released in 2014. I wasn’t entirely sold on it back then, but I thought I would take a risk using this offer. The female protagonist is supposed to be quite strong is this series and I really wanted to see whether the content would be ‘my thing’ or not. As this was part of an offer I’m a lot more flexible to taking a book risk than if I bought it at the full price!

P1030137 edit

4. Fallen by Lauren Kate~ This was a really random purchase. I was browsing a charity/thrift shop in my local high street and I really fancied buying a book there, as I really haven’t done that before (shocking I know). In the end I found this YA novel for only £1- bargain!! I am always up for a cheesy fallen angel story (so nostalgic), even if I do think it is going to be one of those typical teen/pre-teen Twilight-esque type novels (I am a bit of a sucker for Twilight though, sorry). It was only £1 towards a good cause so I don’t mind giving it a go.

 

Aaaand those are all the books I bought this month. I’m in such a book-buying mood at the moment and I know I could have bought SO much more. But I’m really happy with the ones I managed to get in the end, my poor TBR pile is forever growing!

Does anyone have any thoughts about these books? Have you bought some gems this month? Let me know!!

Bye for now~ 

 

P1030131 edit

Leave a Reply

