Books · Reviews

Review: The Sleeping Prince

N.B.: This review is for the sequel of The Sin-Eater’s Daughter and as such will contain a few spoilers from the first book. Only read on if you have already read the first book or if you are not considering reading the series! I don’t want to spoil anything for you!

**

The Sleeping Prince (The Sin Eater’s Daughter, #2)Title: The Sleeping Prince

Author: Melinda Salisbury

Genre: YA high fantasy

Pages: 367

Published: February 2016 (UK)

Publisher: Scholastic

Acquired: Bought at Waterstones (at YALC)

Rating: ★★★★☆ [3.5]

 

Book Blurb:: Some fairy stories should never come true…

Errin knows the old story well: the Sleeping Prince, who rises from his slumber every hundred years to wreak horror and bloodshed. She just never imagined he was real.

As this terrifying enemy rises and a war begins, Errin is forced to flee. With no one to turn to, her only hope is the mysterious Silas, a man whose face she has never even seen…

****

Okay, so I went into this book blind (which I seem to do a lot). I had just finished book 1 of the series The Sin Eater’s Daughter (you can see my book review here) before YALC and I really wanted to find out more, so I bought the sequel during the event.

****

Before I get into the story I wanted to get one thing off my chest. THIS COVER. Ugh, it’s just to die for! I mean, just look at this gorgeousness:

p1030146-edit

I honestly love the cover designs for this series, they are so beautiful and vibrant, and The Sleeping Prince is no exception. Blues, yellows and oranges are a winner in my book! Definitely one of my favourite covers in a long time.

****

Okay, let’s get down to business. The Sleeping Prince follows the story of Errin, Lief’s sister who is living in a refugee town Almwyk (Tregellan). This storyline takes place after the climax of The Sin Eater’s Daughter, when Lormere’s Queen woke up the vengeful Sleeping Prince. Following this the Sleeping Prince takes over the kingdom of Lormere and starts a war to rule the rest of the continent, including Tregellan.

Errin is left to fend for herself in Almwyk while taking care of her mother, who is cursed with a sickness following the death of her husband and the departure of son Lief. Errin’s only companion during this time is the mysterious Silas; a hooded man who visits her house to keep her company and buy some of her illegal potions she relies on for rent.

The Sleeping Prince’s war soon spreads to the town’s borders and, without giving too much away, Errin is forced to flee with Silas to find sanctuary. However Silas has secrets of his own and opens Errin’s mind to a lore she had abandoned a long time ago.

Errin’s story eventually intertwines with Twylla from the first book, where the characters must decide whether to confront or run from the Sleeping Prince. Everything builds to a climax with some unexpected twists and truths in the story! I don’t want to give any spoilers but I really did enjoy the plot progression, the ending scenes were really good.

****

Thoughts

Well this was certainly an interesting book! I must admit I found the beginning of the book a little bit slow, but once we met Silas everything got a LOT more interesting. The pace was really good and I got to see a bit more action compared to the first book.

However, I will say that Errin’s solo part of the journey to Scarron is quite unrealistic? I mean, she’s still a novice in things like this, but she had no major issues travelling there on a horse at all (except some things being stolen). Considering the situation with war and refugees I was honestly expecting there to be a lot more trouble on the road, but it really wasn’t the case. This isn’t a huge critique of the story, I think I just expected a bit more development in this area.

Regardless the climax of this book was so so good! We got to see a whole new side of the war that wasn’t apparent before, some unexpected truths with Twylla and the Sin Eater, as well as a key plot progression for the sequel- it’s all kicking off!

Also, darn you Sleeping Prince!

tumblr_ly8fmmhEpg1r1q455

I was not expecting the events towards the end at all, I was not expecting half the things the Prince started gloating about and how it linked to earlier dreams and things. But god it was so good to read. ❤

That epilogue too! Ahh the final bit of it was really surprising to me, especially after everything that has been going on. I have so many questions about Silas and ‘the servant’ and I can’t wait to find out how they all get on in the next book, The Scarecrow Queen.

****

Characters

  • Errin is certainly a lot more developed than Twylla. She is a lot easier to relate to and less whiny, despite her tragic circumstances. She had so much more depth which was really nice to see. She had a lot of fight in her, but you can still see that she is a young and inexperienced young girl with vulnerabilities that she cannot shake- it was really enjoyable.
  • Silas. My baby! I LOVE his character so much. I’m always drawn to the mysteriously conflicted characters. It was interesting to see his feelings with Errin, but he always made me curious to find out what  his secret was. I didn’t expect him to look as he did when Errin found out what he looked like but once we did I correctly predicted his role in the story. Doesn’t mean I don’t feel sorry for him though, especially when the Sleeping Prince finds him!
  • Speaking of, the Sleeping Prince is such a bastard! When he awoke in the first book I thought he would be really disorientated and maybe even a misunderstood good guy- boy was I wrong! He really has a chip on his shoulder, and some of the things he did was just terrible. I mean, I really can’t speak about them for spoiler reasons, but it was so manipulative and unnecessary! Poor Errin.
  • Twylla was still a bit annoying to be honest. She had matured a little but she was still so naive about everything? I mean she doesn’t hear about the war for so long, decides to raise an army and just expects it to happen really easily to defeat the Sleeping Prince??? She has no experience or training with this, not everyone will do something just because she asks for it… I really want to like Twylla but I always have a little niggle about her when something happens, *sigh*.
  • Lief!!!?? Merek??!! WHAT!? How could this happen, I am lost for words for both these characters- even if they don’t appear in the story for too long.

****

Overall, I did enjoy this book. I think this book is better than the first one, especially after all the action towards the end! I’m definitely going to be buying the third book- The Scarecrow Queen– when it comes out in 2017!

For anyone who’s read the book- what did you think

Rating: star 1star 1star 1star 1-5

 p1030151-edit

One thought on “Review: The Sleeping Prince

Leave a Reply

