Bookishness · unboxing

First FairyLoot Unboxing! September 2016

Hello everyone!

I’ve got an exciting blog post for you today! 🙂 I’ve been interested in the bookish subscription boxes for a while now, but I’ve been a bit hesitant to spend my money on them just in case I don’t like what I get. But after doing some research into some of the UK boxes available I finally decided to take the plunge, with FairyLoot!

Yes, so FairyLoot is a YA bookish monthly subscription box. Each month has a different theme, and they send boxes containing 4-6 bookish items, and one book of the month. September’s theme was Magic and Mayhem, for fans of A Darker Shade of Magic (yes please), the Grisha trilogy (on my TBR list) and Six of Crows.

This sounded really exciting so I went ahead an ordered a one-off box! I’ve never been so excited to receive a parcel before, and as soon as I got the shipping confirmation I was racing home every day to see if I had a delivery at my doorstep.

Aaaand, here it is!

fairyloot-1

My first ever FairyLoot box! I wanted to share my unboxing with you all, for those who are interested in the service itself and for those who just want to see what I get. 🙂

And isn’t the box just stunning! I love the logo, and that is has this little quote on the side:

“Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.”

Neil Gaiman, Coraline.

From spying other people’s previous boxes I think the quote changes all the time, which is so cool!! I also love the purple paper packing on the inside- not only is it a beautiful colour scheme but it looks so pretty!!

***

Okay, okay, on to the contents now!! The first thing you see in this box is this glorious FairyLoot postcard, depicting an awesome magical image for this month’s theme.

img_0451-edit

On the back it also explains exactly what is in this month’s box for you, but of course I completely avoided reading it at all costs, just so the inside is a complete surprise!

***

One of the first items I spied is this beautiful soy candle from Castle of Fables:

img_0452-edit

I’m not much of a candle user, but I was excited to get a candle for photo blogging decoration purposes. It is such a beautiful colour and it smells so sweet!! There were actually 3 different types of candle in this month’s box, all exclusive products for FairyLoot- how cool is that!? These candles and their colours are based upon Leigh Bardugo’s Grisha Orders: Corporalki, Materialki and Etherialki. I have yet to read the Grishaverse series (I know, I’m sorry) by I found out that Corporalki are valuable soldiers that can either heal people or manipulate people’s bodies. Judging by the sweet strawberry scent of this candle I think it is aimed more towards the healers!

This box also contained this exclusive Grisha notebook designed by The Literary Emporium.

fairyloot-3

It is a fairly thin notebook, but it is super cool to have an exclusive bookish design. I hate writing in pretty notebooks, this one looks too unique to dirty with my scribblings…

This box was chock-full of Grisha stuff, I also received some exclusive Six of Crow/Crooked Kingdom postcards as well as an awesome Second Army poster, which was designed by GoodNightKittens:

fairyloot 4.jpg

***

As well as Grisha merch there was some seriously cool stuff from BookOtter!!! I mean just look at these beauties:

img_0454-edit-2

First up we have a set of 4 badges from Schwab’s A Darker Shade of Magic series. It has some cool quotes/magic from the series, as well as Kell’s coat and finally, handsome Kell himself ❤ I love how Kell looks so much, it is my favourite gift and it makes me so happy! BookOtter also designed such a cute Harry Potter Felix Felicis potion sticker. The colours are so bright, I just love looking at it! I’m scared to stick it down somewhere and give its luck a forever home though.

***

Okay, so I left the last few items that I received until last, because they relate directly to the exciting FairyLoot Book of the Month (spoiler)!  Pastel Clouds Jewellery created this Russian doll necklace exclusively for this box. It is so dainty and cute and fits SO well with the Russian folklore element of this month’s book and the Magic and Mayhem theme. It is such a pretty trinket, I may have to wear it out tomorrow!

img_0470-edit

The box also contained a beautiful foiled bookmark designed by Behind the Pages. I’ve seen her products around on Instagram and other subscription services online, so it was so so nice to finally be able to own one of her bookmarks. The bookmark is for Vassa in the Night (spoiler!), and I just love the colour scheme she has used for the design.

img_0456-edit

And of course, after all these amazing goodies, I can’t forget the Book of the Month! The book was packaged in this adorable FairyLoot bag which I LOVE. ❤ SO without further ado, FairyLoot’s September Book is….

fairyloot-2

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter! I hadn’t really heard much about this book so it was a definitely a nice surprise to have this hardcover in the box! Here is a copy of the book blurb for you all:

In the enchanted kingdom of Brooklyn, the fashionable people put on cute shows, go to parties in warehouses, drink on rooftops at sunset, and tell themselves they’ve arrived. A whole lot of Brooklyn is like that now- but not Vassa’s working-class neighborhood.

In Vassa’s neighborhood, where she lives with her stepmother and bickering stepsisters, one might stumble onto magic, but stumbling away again could become an issue. Babs Yagg, the owner of the local convenience store, has a policy of beheading shoplifters- and sometimes innocent shoppers as well. When Vassa’s stepsister sends her out for a lightbulb in the middle of the night, she knows it could easily become a suicide mission.

But Vassa has a bit of luck hidden in her pocket, a gift from her dead mother. Erg is a tough-talking wooden doll with sticky fingers, a bottomless stomach, and a ferocious cunning. With Erg’s help, Vassa might just be able to break the witch’s curse and free her Brooklyn neighborhood. But Babs won’t be playing fair…

Inspired by the Russian folktle ‘Vassilissa the Beautiful’ and her years of experience teaching creative writing to student in New York City public schools, acclaimed author Sarah Porter weaves a dark yet hopeful tale about a young girl’s search for home, love, and belonging.

I’ll be honest, the idea of a talking/moving doll doesn’t really appeal to me in a story, but I am ALWAYS down for some Russian folklore. Eastern European culture is always something that interests me, despite me still not knowing much about it. So I am always up for a retelling of their old tales, even more so if it is an urban fantasy. 😀 Hopefully it’ll be a good read!!

This book also came with a signed bookplate designed by Sarah Porter, a postcard of BY’s magical wares and a letter from the author herself.

***

So, that is what I received in this month’s FairyLoot box! I’m still so happy and excited, even more so after writing this blog post.

This is my first ever bookish subscription box, and although I’m not sure how many of the items I’ll actually use yet, I’m definitely not disappointed! I love this whole concept; not just receiving a new surprise book each month but also getting my hands on so much exclusive bookish content! I’m now really sad that I didn’t order Octobers Steampunk Rebellion box now!  I have such a Steampunk passion, but at the time I just didn’t want to risk buying another box without seeing how much I liked my first one. Major regrets now.

Thank you so much to FairyLoot for putting together such a wonderful box. I’m so so so happy with this whole service I’ll definitely be buying another box soon- at this rate I might have to buy a 3- or 6-month subscription service!

Has anyone else used FairyLoot or another subscription box? What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

img_0479

Leave a Reply

