Bookishness · Books · Wrap-Ups

September Wrap-Up// October TBR

Hello everyone!

Another month is over, which means it’s time for me to make another wrap-up blog post! I love doing these kind of posts, they really help me see how productive I’ve been and I do surprise myself sometimes.

September was a good month. I just finished an unexpected publishing work placement which is really nice, and I feel I have been really productive with my reading and my blog 🙂

Oh oh oh, and I also received my first every FairyLoot Box this month!! Ugh it was such an exciting treat, I definitely have caught the book subscription bug. AND OMG I just managed to order one of their spare October boxes as they just came back in stock!!!!!!! The theme is Steampunk rebellion and I’m a sucker for steampunk ❤ ❤ I’M SO PUMPED!

fairyloot-1
My new love

So, let’s get down to the good stuff:

 

Books I’ve Read

So I played it safe in my previous September TBR blog post and said I was going to read 3 books this month. My plan was to read Switched (Amanda Hocking), Talon (Julie Kagawa) and The Memory Book (Lara Avery).

I was actually super productive with my reading, even though I didn’t feel like I was reading as much as normal! I was honestly so surprised with my progress, but my reading demon inside me was super happy 😀

engrossed-reading
Source: giphy

In September I ended up reading a total of 5 books:

  • Switched by Amanda Hocking: ★★☆☆☆ [1.5]. Okay I really didn’t like this one. I didn’t like the pace, the plot or the romance. I didn’t feel engaged at all and couldn’t wait to finish. Definitely not my cup of tea.
  • Talon by Julie Kagawa: ★★★★☆. Dragons disguised as humans!?!?!?!= YES. I really enjoyed this book, I loved Ember’s and Garrett’s interactions. I did have my own issues with it, but I will still be continuing the series- I need to find out how things progress between the two.
  • The Memory Book by Lara Avery: ★★★★☆. Oh gosh my heart. This was a really interesting read that kept me engaged, but it was so bittersweet! Sammie really grew on me, and Coop is a sweetheart ❤
  • The Novice by Taran Matharu: Review TBA. After waiting for this book for months I finally bought a copy of The Novice! I love a story about demons, although having them as familiars isn’t my favourite storyline. That said I really enjoyed this book, it was so interesting and fun, and that ending really made me want to keep reading!
  • The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen: Review TBA. Okay, so this is exactly the book I’ve been craving ❤ <3. While there wasn’t a lot of action, I love seeing a feminist queen who is clever and logically tries to solve any problems that come to her court. I got completely sucked into the Queen’s world, and I am itching to find out what happens next!
sept-read-edit
Covers from Goodreads

Apart from Switched they were all really good books, and I feel so accomplished!

****

September Blog Posts

Like August I ended up posting more than just once a week, even if it was a little irregular. I have a backlog of reviews that I am trying to catch up on, so until I get caught up my posting habits are a bit out of schedule. I’m still making sure that one post goes up every Monday though!

 

October TBR

Okay, so October. I don’t really celebrate Halloween, but I wanted to get a mix of books this month to include some stories related to the paranormal. Well, 2 out of 3 of them are anyway! 😛

This month I am planning on reading:

p1030186-edit

  1. Fallen by Lauren Kate~ I’m already predicting that this is like Twilight but with angels. I do like a good angel story and it’s really hard to find a good one that appeals to me. I’m hoping this one wont let me down!
  2. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han~ I’m really excited to read this. I’ve heard so many good things about this book and I’m really hoping I’ll love it just as much. The cover is so cute too!
  3. Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter~ My September FairyLoot book! I don’t know much about this book yet, but Russian folklore seems fitting for Halloween right? It isn’t a book I was anticipating but I hope I enjoy it 🙂

If I do end up reading these quite fast like September’s TBR then I might read an epic fantasy, or I really should catch up on my Kindle books (I always forget about my poor old kindle, sorry!).

****

So there we go, that’s the wrap-up post done! I’m looking forward to another month of reading this month. I’m also taking part in Inktober this year too, as drawing is another one of my hobbies. As a sneak peek, here is one of my pictures:

323-inktober-day-1
If you want to see more, my art account is mapleflyart on Instagram

My art isn’t the best, but I’m trying to practice more and improve.  Hopefully I can keep all this up and not procrastinate!

What are everyone’s plans for October? Let me know in the comments! 

2 thoughts on “September Wrap-Up// October TBR

  1. Aww, your art is ADORABLE!! And congrats on a wonderfully productive month! 🎉 I really really loved To All the Boys (I just read it a few weeks ago😍) so I hope you do enjoy that one. The romance is soooo cute and there’s SO MUCH DELICIOUS FOOD. And I just got sent a notification that my order of Vassa in the Night has shipped! WOOOO. I hope we both enjoy it. 😀 Also omg The Memory Book right?!? CRYING FOREVER. 💔 But so beautifully written!!
    I hope you have a marvellous October! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahh omg thank you Cait! .<
      Oh good, I really hope I enjoy it too! Food is LIFE, so I'm down for that. Oh wow and really? YAY! Let me know how you find Vassa! I'm pretty sure I'll end up reading it closer to Halloween and I'm hoping its Russian folklore doesn't let me down.
      Oh god yes. COOP AND SAMMIE ❤ It was such a pleasant surprise, and I just want to give them all a hug.

      Thanks again for the lovely comment, and I hope you have a great month too! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

