Bookishness · unboxing

Fairyloot Unboxing: October 2016!!

Hi guys!

It feels like I only just did my September unboxing for Fairyloot, but here I am again with another box!  This is the second time I have bought a box, I just find this subscription so so exciting. I’ll be honest and say I don’t always love everything in the boxes, but I do LOVE the excitement of seeing so many new and exclusive bookish things in one box ❤ ❤ Fairyloot makes me so happy 🙂

October’s Fairyloot theme was Steampunk Rebellion. I am such a fan of steampunk, the Victorian/industrial revolution style is so versatile and I am always a sucker for the fashion, cogs and of course, all the steampunk technology. I was very lucky to get this month’s box, there were a few last minute cancellation/spare boxes at the beginning of October and I managed to swipe one before they sold out for the second time. PHEW!

omg-happy-twirl
source: giphy

 

So without further ado, let’s open this beauty… 

NOTE: this is an unboxing post so there will be spoilers- so don’t go any further unless you have already opened yours/ haven’t ordered October’s box!!

p1030238-edit

 

First up we get an info card with a glorious image of this month’s theme.

p1030204-edit

I love the colours of this image, it reminds me of The Iron Man (not from Marvel) meets OnePunchMan 😛 The back of the card contains all the details of each item and where they came from, but I’ll be getting to that down below. I didn’t want to spoil the surprise!

 

The next thing that I got was this Erudite candle from Meraki Candles:

p1030265-edit

It is an exclusive FairyLoot item! There were 6 Divergent-based candles for this month’s box, all completely random! I still need to read the Divergent series, so I don’t fully get the reference, but I love that there are so many different varieties this month! Erudite is a citrus-y scent, which I must admit I’m not the biggest fan of, but OMG the colour is just gorgeous! It’s so pretty, so at the very least it will take pride of place in bookshelf and blog decorations 😀

 

p1030255-edit-copy

The next item was this beautiful Washi tape from FairyLoot themselves, which is really exciting. It is also a new addition to the FairyLoot boxes! I love the idea of having washi tapes. They are so fun to get creative with, although I don’t think it is something you want in every box. I use washi tape on the rare occassion in letter-writing/art, but I mainly just like looking how cute the designs are. A steampunk-inspired one is definitely up my street 🙂 This tape is a lovely rustic brown tone with amazing clock details on it- it is SO NICE

 

Next up I got a special edition Elias Lip Balm from Behind the Pages:

p1030253-edit

Elias is from Ember of Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. The book is definitely on my to-read list, and I feel a little sheepish that I didn’t recognise the name >< Anyway, Behind the Pages is such a popular shop, and I actually haven’t tried any of the lip balms yet! I love the gold packaging, and the balm itself is gold with glitter!? GLITTER I TELL YOU. It has a spicy coconutty smell too, and I look forward to trying it out!

 

Okay, I was super pumped about this next item. There were two Magnetic Bookmarks from Happy Hello Inc on offer this week, from the amazing Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare. There was the option of the two hotties, Jem or Will, and AHHHH I GOT WILL BABY! ❤ ❤ ❤

p1030257-edity

I’m so happy I got Will, his design is quite simple compared to Jem but I love him so much. I can’t wait to use him in while I read soon, although to be honest I might just keep him to admire him. The design by Happy Hello Inc is so cute, and I’m really intrigued about what other characters they offer now.

 

Related to The Infernal Devices there was another new item in this box! There was an exclusive Tea Towel, designed by Read at Midnight:

p1030230-edit

It is a white tea towel with steampunk cogs (yesssss) and the beautiful quote from A Clockwork Angel:

“One must be careful of books and what is inside of them, for words have the power to change us.”

This is so unique and amazing, with such a fitting bookish quote! It is so pretty, and at the moment I’m too scared to ever use it to clean my dirty dishes! 😛

 

In October’s box we also got some unique Steampunk-themed jewellery, which is always exciting ❤ First up we have this Clockwork Ring by Cogs and Curiosities:

p1030248-edit

First, just look at the cute stripy packaging it came in, it’s so precious! The ring itself is a bronze colour, with gold glitter covering the top and embedded with little cogs and bolts. So so fitting for the theme, but sadly I don’t really wear rings. However I DO look forward to using it in blog pictures, I’m so shameless (can’t get enough of bookish merch)!!

 

Oh gosh, and this box also had a stunning Mechanical Butterfly Necklace by FairyLoot. Just take a moment to admire its beauty…

p1030215-edit

I love the design of this, the wings are elegant while completely matching the “clunkiness” of the Steampunk theme. Again don’t know if I’ll wear it out yet, but OMG it is so precious and most definitely photo worthy 🙂 Makes me happy just to look at it.

 

Okay, okay, now we get to the important book stuff. As soon as I heard about the theme I had my suspicions, as there was one major steampunk release I was looking forward to. And oh my, I certainly wasn’t disappointed:

p1030262-edit

Eep- it’s Metaltown by Kristen Simmons!!!!! Oh gosh I’m so excited- I did feature this book in my Anticipated September Releases post, and after hearing so many good reviews it got me more and more intrigued. When I saw that it was included in this box my heart did a little party dance 🙂 I’m so happy with this, it fits Steampunk Rebellion down to a tee and I honestly can’t wait to read it!

Here is the book blurb for you all, in case you haven’t heard of this book yet:

“Metaltown. Where factories rule, food is scarce, and hope is in short supply.

The rules of Metaltown are simple: work hard, keep your head down, and watch your back. You look out for number one, and no one knows that better than Ty. She’s been surviving on the factory line as long as she can remember. But Ty has Colin. She’s no longer alone; it’s just the two of them against the world. That’s something that even a town this brutal can’t take away from her. Until it does. 

Lena’s future depends on her family’s factory, a beast that demands a ruthless master, and Lena is prepared to be as ruthless as it takes if it means finally proving herself to her father. But when a chance encounter with Colin, a dreamer despite his circumstances, exposes Lena to the consequences of her actions, she’ll risk everything to do what’s right. 

In Lena, Ty sees an heiress with a chip on her shoulder. Colin sees something more. In a world of disease and war, tragedy and betrayal, allies and enemies, all three of them just learn that challenging what they thought was true can change all the rules.”

 

 

As well as the glorious book itself, we were also gifted some Metaltown book loot, including a signed letter by the author herself, a signed book plate, and a propaganda badge saying ‘Press Back’. 🙂

p1030227-edit

****

As a steampunk admirer I am in awe of this box. Sure, I don’t know if I will use the jewellery or dirty the tea-towel (it’s too precious), but the book and precious WILL certainly make up for it. I am not disappointed and of course I will be buying another box in the future. ❤ I can’t resist bookish surprises.

Thanks again to the team at Fairyloot for taking the time to create such an awesome box, I have so much love for you guys. It is also really nice to see some FairyLoot designs and items- it makes me super excited to see how this bookish box is going to grow in the future!

Did anyone else get this month’s box? What did you think? Let me know in the comments! ♥

 

p1030272-edit-2

4 thoughts on “Fairyloot Unboxing: October 2016!!

Leave a Reply

