Bookishness · Books · Hauls

November Book Haul Part 1: Work Perks

Not another book haul Leanne, I hear you cry!

I know I know, I already have loads of books, and my last big haul was only in October. How can I need to do another haul post already? But I do have a good reason, promise! As I’ve probably mentioned a bazillion times my temp job gives me a book discount and access to old books they no longer have space for in the office, so I’m currently in overdrive trying to collect as many books as I can before I leave 😛 I feel like I’m hoarding all my supplies for the winter (or in this case, the months when I don’t have a discount).

books-merlin
source: Giphy.com

In fact, this month’s book collection is so big, I’m having to separate it into two posts!

This first part of the book haul involves books I have acquired through work. In the head office where I work there are piles of old and new book proofs and book copies that, for whatever reason, are no longer needed in the department. Of course this is where I come in and take as many as I can carry in my bag home. 🙂

DISCLAIMER: Although I have picked up a mix of proofs and published books from my job, please note that I am in no way sponsored by my workplace or the publishers. I am not trying to brag about free books or anything, but as I didn’t buy these particular books I wanted to separate them from the HUGE pile of books that I have been buying this month.

Okay, let’s get started- I hope you enjoy it!

****

Book Proofs:

p1030326-edit

1. How to Find Love in a Bookshop by Veronica Henry~ Okay so this book was published in Summer of this year, so this is an old book proof that was just sitting on the shelves. I’m actually still hearing about this book on Twitter every so often so I’m looking forward to seeing whether I’ll like it or not. It looks like a nice love story but with two different storylines merged into one, which might be interesting. And of course it is set in a bookshop, so honestly what’s not to love!

p1030324-edit

2. Caraval by Stephanie Garber~ This book has been receiving SO much hype, and rave reviews by bloggers who got their hands on an ARC. I’ll be honest and say it wasn’t a book that 100% intrigued me when I first heard about it, although I’ll admit the cover designs are stunningly beautiful. However when I saw a lone copy on the shelves at work I decided to take the plunge and give it a read. The Goodreads synopsis doesn’t give too much away except that it is based around two sisters’ escape to the magical mystery Caraval, where Tessa has to find/rescue her sister before its too late? Well, I’m interested enough to jump on the bandwagon and see what it’s all about, that’s for sure.

Office Book Freebies:

p1030327-edit

1. Unspeakable by Abbie Rushton~ Honestly I didn’t know much about this book before I picked it up; I think I had heard some whisperings on social media but not much. Reading the blurb it is about a character who has been mute for months due to some terrible secrets she cannot speak about, but she finds solace with a new girl at school. I feel like this might be a quick read but I’m curious to see what the secrets are and how the two girls get along.

p1030325-edit

2. Bookworm by Christopher Nuttall~ The perfect title- right? 😛 Okay this book looks really interesting; it is about an orphan working in the Great Library of a world where magic=power. She ends up accidentally triggering a magical trap and gaining all the magical knowledge in the Library into her brain- including forbidden magic. I am really interested in seeing how the character deals with this sudden knowledge and the subsequent events, and I hope it doesn’t disappoint!

p1030320-edit

3. The Iron Trial by Holly Black & Cassandra Clare~ This was such a coincidence. Just a few days before I had been browsing Goodreads and saw this series. Although it is classed as middle-grade I was still intrigued and added this to by ‘Want to Read’ list. Then I came into work at the weekend and saw some old copies of this lying on the shelf. Not only that but the first copy I picked up was signed?! Whaaaat! I was so shocked, but decided this was a opportunity too good to miss. This book is about a boy called Callum Hunt. Everyone his age dreams of getting into the Magisterium to home their magic skills, but not Callum. He tries so hard to fail the entrance exam.. but fails at failing. This alone made me want to read the book, and find out how he copes in the magic school that he hates. Since there were free copies at work I thought now was as good a time as any to give it a go.

p1030328-edit

4. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell~ I spied this book while browsing the work shelves and I just had to pick it up. After reading Fangirl this summer I have been wanting to try another of Rowell’s novels, but I hadn’t decided which one to choose. Looks like fate chose for me, as this was enticing me from the office. It looks like a quirky love story between Eleanor- whose lifestyle makes her stick out a lot- and Park- who thinks he is invisible to everyone. A cutesy first-love story, but I’m excited to give this a try as I really did like Fangirl.

****

Right, I think I’ll stop here for today. I hope you enjoyed this slight twist of a haul. These are the only books I have taken from work this month, but oh boy I’ve been buying so much more. Next week’s haul post is going to be huuuge!

Do any of these books take your fancy? Have you read any already? Let me know in the comments! 

p1030319-edit

3 thoughts on “November Book Haul Part 1: Work Perks

Leave a Reply

