Blogmas · Bookishness · Wrap-Ups

{Blogmas Day 2} November Wrap-Up// December TBR

Hello again!

How are we nearing the end of 2016 already? November just flew by! While December is my all-time favourite month, I don’t feel prepared at all. I think I need a time-out month please to  get myself ready!

****

To start off the month of December and Blogmas I decided to keep it simple with my normal bookish posts. Today is one of my favourite types of post: a wrap-up post!

As it gets closer to Christmas I feel that I run out of time to do everything. Sadly this also includes reading. I tend to read during my work commute, but as the days get shorter and colder I tend to want to hibernate and sleep on the train instead.

sleepy-kitty
source: giphy.com

As such my reading has been a little slow and it feels a tad neglected, sorry!

****

Books I’ve Read

Okay, so I’ve had a pretty bad reading month. I have actually been reading most days, but one book in particular is taking me a lot longer to get through than I imagined…

So in my November TBR post I said I was going to read Nothing Tastes As Good by Claire Hennessey, Malice by John Gwynne and Metaltown by Kristen Simmons. Sadly I didn’t get through this list at all, which is a real bummer.

This month I read:

Nothing Tastes As GoodNothing Tastes as Good by Claire Hennessey~ Review TBA
I do love reading books that involve bigger girls or weight-related storylines. As someone who is constantly trying to lose weight I find these kind of stories super interesting, and this book deals with characters with eating disorders as well as general opinions on ‘fat girls’. This book was a really quick read, and while there were a few things I didn’t like, I generally enjoyed reading this one! I love the cover too, it’s beautiful! A review will be coming soon in December!

****

Malice (The Faithful and the Fallen, #1)
I am currently reading Malice by John Gwynne. I finish most books within a week or 2 at the most, but this book is more than 600 pages so 3 weeks later I’m still going. It is an adult-fantasy novel and I found it quite hard to get into at the beginning. But things are all kicking off now so I hope to finish it soon! Only 160 pages left to go 😛

 

 

Sadly I didn’t get round to reading Metaltown 😦 Back on the TBR you go…oops.

Covers here are taken from Goodreads!

****

November Blog Posts

October 16 Wrap-Up// November TBR!

My Anticipated November 2016 releases!

The Goodreads Book Tag!

Review: Fallen

November Book Haul Part 1: Work Perks

Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

November Book Haul Part 2: Crazy Book Lady

I did end up doing a few posts this month, and caught up on a few of October’s book reviews (gosh I’m so behind). Once I get up to date with everything I’m hoping I can add some more content in 2017 🙂

****

December TBR

Okay, down to my favourite month of the year! As you are probably aware I am doing Blogmas this December so that may take up a lot of my time. The month in general is generally a busy month with work, my birthday and other Christmas social event. I will still choose my usual 3 books for this month, but I’m honestly not holding my breath that I’ll finish them in time, especially as I still have to finish Malice by Gwynne.

This month I’m planning on reading:

p1030435-edit
Yes so I have had to photoshop one of the covers in as it is an ebook and I only have one Kindle…
  1. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo~ Okay, so I really can’t wait to get started on the first book of the Grisha trilogy. Mainly because I want to read Six of Crows (I have a feeling it is right up my street), and I want to understand all the Grisha references while reading. I still don’t know much about this series so I’ll be going into it blind (my favourite way to read).
  2. The Christmas Gift: Winter Romance by Stella Wilkinson~ A festive read for December! This was a free ebook I downloaded from Amazon, and I’m just expecting it to be a happy and easy Christmassy read for the winter season. It is probably a bit cheesy, but I’m sure it’ll be perfect for those cold days.
  3. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven~ One of the books from my most recent Book Haul. It is based on a topic quite close to my heart at the moment and I really want to see how Niven deals with ideas about suicide. And of course I’ve heard she’s a great contemporary writer, so it’s about time that I try some her work 🙂

If I do end up finishing all these books in time then I’ll definitely be picking Metaltown back up, I feel bad for neglecting it in November!

****

Well, that’s the penultimate wrap-up of 2016 done! I can’t believe how time has flown by, but at least we are now in my preferred month of the year.

What is everyone else reading this month? Let me know in the comments! ♥

Leave a Reply

