Baking · Blogmas

{Blogmas Day 10} Banana & Gingerbread Loaf

Hello everyone!

I have been meaning to some festive baking for Blogmas, but I honestly haven’t had a lot of time at the moment! 😦

However I thought I would share something I made last Christmas. My office did a festive bake-off and I entered in this banana and gingerbread loaf cake. Everyone loved it. In fact, I actually won that round with this cake and got through to our bake-off final!

I used the cake recipe featured on the Allrecipes website. The original recipe was a loaf cake with a vanilla glaze, but I decided to switch it up and go for a cinnamon icing and gingernut biscuit topping! So, so good. ❤

This is such an indulgent cake; so moist and packed full of the strong flavours of each element! It’s not super Christmassy but the ginger definitely adds that little festive twist for the winter season 🙂

bananginger

Note: I was planning on making this cake again for 2016 and having progress photos, but as I haven’t had time I only have 1 photo from the time I made it in 2015- sorry! 

****

Ingredients

Serves: 12

For the cake>>

  •  2 large ripe bananas
  • 150g dark brown soft sugar
  • 175g black treacle
  • 125ml vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 60ml milk
  • 250g plain flour
  • 2 teaspoons ground ginger (or more to your own preference)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground allspice***
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves***
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

***I actually don’t own these spices, so what I did was add 1 1/4 teaspoon of mixed spice, along with the cinnamon (I’m a bit cray when adding spices and always add more than the recipe states)

For the Cinnamon Buttercream>>

  • 50-100g icing sugar
  • 50-100g unsalted butter (at room temperature)
  • splash of vanilla essence
  • cinnamon to taste (I usually add 1-2 teaspoons)

For the extra topping additions>>

  • crushed ginger nut biscuits (I think I used about 4, but it depends on how much crunch you want on top)
  • chocolate icing pen
  • cookie cutter of your choice

 

Method

Prep:15-20min  ♥  Cook: 60-70min   

**Steps 1-5 are borrowed for the Allrecipes online recipe, although I have added my own notes at the end of each step. The other steps are my own additions to this recipe!**

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 C / Gas 3. Grease a 900g (2 lb) loaf tin.
  2. For the cake, mash bananas in a large bowl with a fork. Add brown sugar, treacle, vegetable oil, eggs and milk and stir until combined.
  3. In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, ginger, cinnamon, allspice, cloves, bicarb and salt. ((Note: I added an extra half a teaspoon or so of ginger for an extra kick, but it depends on what you fancy))
  4. Add flour mixture to banana mixture and stir just until flour is incorporated. Tip into prepared tin. ((Note: My loaf mix filled the tin right up to the very top, which was a bit scary. But the cake doesn’t rise that much, so don’t worry!))
  5. Bake for 60 to 70 minutes, or until it tests done with a skewer ((Note: A skewer should come out of the cake clean when done, so no cake mix sticks to the sides)). Cool completely, and then turn out of tin.
  6. To make the cinnamon icing, sieve the icing sugar to get out all the lumps and whisk it with the unsalted butter. I usually start with 50g of each, and add more later if it doesn’t cover the cake (or if you want a thicker icing layer). I aim to have equal parts sugar with butter.
  7. Add cinnamon and vanilla essence to the buttercream, and you can always add a little bit more depending on your tastebuds! You want it to complement the banana loaf and not be too grainy/overpowering.
  8. You can leave the cake as it is at this stage but I like to add ginger nut biscuits for an extra texture and a more gingery taste. Crush your biscuits using a rolling pin, saucepan or whatever you can find. I like to place my biscuits between two sheets of clingfilm and bashing them with a pan until they are in small crumbs.
  9. While the buttercream is still setting, place your cookie cutter wherever you want the pattern to be, and sprinkle a layer of the crushed biscuits all around the outside. When you remove the cookie cutter this will leave a nice design of buttercream in your designated shape!
  10. You can use a chocolate icing pen to create an outline around this festive, like I did on my cake with the Christmas tree.

 

Aaaand, voila! This is a really rich cake (I mean look at all the treacle in it), but it is SO moreish 🙂 Definitely worth it for a different indulgent treat.

panda-love
source: giphy.com

I hope you like my first baking post! I do apologise for the lack of images, but in the future I will be taking progress photos  of my baking while I make them!

If you have any baking ideas you want to see, let me know! ♥

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “{Blogmas Day 10} Banana & Gingerbread Loaf

Leave a Reply

