Blogmas · Bookishness · Books

{Blogmas Day 12} Book/series I can always rely on for a good time

Hi guys, how are you all?

Monday means it is time for another bookish post, and I’ve been wanting to do a post like this for a while.

Until I started this book blog I would generally buy books about twice a year because I was a Scrooge and didn’t want to spend any money. In the meantime I would read almost my entire bookshelf at least once before buying some more. Book-blogging has changed this as it has basically made me want to inhale all the books in the world, but I still have a few old faithfuls on my shelf that I can always turn to for a good read.

Some are guilty pleasures and others are just really amazing books, but I wanted to share them with you all. I hope you enjoy!

****

p1030450edit

  • Demon’s Lexicon series by Sarah Rees Brennan~ So I have owned this series for years, and I still love it. All three books in the series are really enjoyable, but I love the first book- Demon’s Lexicon– the most. It basically combines demons and a mysterious male protagonist. So much happens to the poor guy that I can’t help but love Nick (I’m such a sadist).

p1030453edit

  • Works by L.J. Smith: The Night World series & Dark Visions~ Okay, these books are some definite guilty pleasures of mine. I always have a soft spot for vampires, so I do love a good supernatural romance story. Dark Visions is one I wouldn’t ordinarily have picked as psychic powers  don’t appeal to me, but it is surprisingly a really good story and is always one of the ones I reach for on my shelf.

p1030451edit

  • The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins~ So I jumped on the bandwagon with these books when the series was all the rage. It was first official dystopian series and I fell in love straight away. I didn’t like the films much, but I really enjoy reading about Katniss’ emotions in these books, they really make it for me.

p1030456edit

  • The Ketty Jay series by Chris Wooding~ So as you all know this is my absolute FAVOURITE series of all time (if you didn’t know this already, where have you been?!). These steampunk books are so fun and witty, and I can never get bored of the misfit crew of the Ketty Jay. I love all the books in the series, but I think I love The Iron Jackal the most.

 

****

So there we have it. Of course I am prone to rereading my bookshelves from time to time so there are so many other books I enjoy, but these are the ones I reach for most.

Have you read any of these books? Which books are your old faithfuls? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

