Blogmas · Books · Reviews

{Blogmas Day 23} Review: A Christmas Gift

23830523
Title: A Christmas Gift: Winter Romance

Author: Stella Wilkinson

Genre: YA/teen, romance, Christmas contemporary

Pages: 28!

Published: 2014

Publisher: N/A

Acquired: Free ebook from Amazon!

Rating: ★★☆☆☆

 

Goodreads synopsis:: Holly and Caleb had been best friends as children, growing up on the same street, but as teenagers they couldn’t be further apart. When Caleb unexpectedly asked Holly to help him pick out a Christmas gift for his girlfriend, neither of them anticipated where it would lead.

****

Okay, so I did NOT realise how short this story was when I downloaded it and chose to read it as part of my December TBR. 28 pages! I mean I read this in like 20 minutes on the way home from work, it felt really surreal. As such the book really wasn’t what I expected. I wasn’t going to write a review for this one, but it is a festive read so despite everything I thought it was apt for Blogmas- it might be a short post though….

****

This is a really cute fluffy kind of story. I did feel a bit old though, as I think it is aimed at younger teens or tweens within a YA audience. It has the young-love crushes and romance that people dream of when you are like 13-16 and getting used to high school life.

However it is also very typical and cheesy. It is quite an obvious trope- girl helps crush find his gf’s present, but as a result he discovers his true feelings. Don’t get me wrong, I still liked the cheesy happy ending (I still want an ending like that in my life ❤ ), but the general storyline made me cringe a little, sorry.

Now, granted I wasn’t prepared for the story to be as short as it was, but as a result I felt that it was super rushed. In the beginning of the book they mention that Holly hasn’t spoken to Caleb in months, yet all of a sudden they can talk as normal, and she randomly agrees to help him find a gift? If I haven’t spoken to someone in months, the last thing I’ll do is jump straight to going on an outing with them in my free time! I didn’t feel like there was a lot of time spent on the emotions that this sort of love would bring..

I also didn’t find it as festive as I would’ve liked. 😦 I mean sure it is a love story based on finding a Christmas present, but that was as Christmassy as it felt. It could have been about finding a general present at any time of the year and not much of the story would have to be changed at all. I was expecting a lot more festive references. But then again it was my first Christmas-themed story, so I didn’t really know what to expect.

****

Gosh, reading this back I sound so negative! I do want to point out that if I was a lot younger I would have loved this story. I mean it is really CUTE, but it was not was I was expecting at all.

It is a nice, simple, feel-good read, but sadly I just can’t rate it very high as it is not my cup of tea. But if you want a short teen love story, or are a younger tween audience, I would recommend it to ease you in to reading. 🙂

Do you like short stories? Have you read this one? Let me know in the comments! 

Rating: star-1star-1

p1030545-edit

Leave a Reply

