Bookishness · Books · Wrap-Ups

December Wrap-Up- 2016 is over!

Hello everyone! I can’t believe we have reached the end of 2016! This year has been one of my hardest so far, and yet the last couple of months have flown by. I don’t feel prepared to start a whole new year- I need a time-out!

time-out-gif
source: giphy.com

I thought I would do my last wrap-up post of the year before 2017 hits. This is going to be a long one, as it is not just a December wrap-up, but I am going to squeeze a general 2016 wrap-up in here too! Also, just a note that this post wont have a January TBR on it; as it is a new year next month I thought I would do a TBR post at the very beginning of 2017, rather than add it on to this mammoth entry.

Beware that this post is huge, so read at your own peril! I’ll include large headers for each section, so you can always skip to the sections you like.

****

Books I’ve Read

So December is always a busy busy month, but due to some accidental bookish misunderstandings I actually had a good reading month?

In my December TBR blog post I decided I was going to read Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo, A Christmas Gift by Stella Wilkinson and All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven. After November’s dismal reading month I was determined to finish all the books in my list, and I am pleased to say that I managed to get through them all, and then some! 🙂

This month I read:

Malice (The Faithful and the Fallen, #1)Malice by John Gwynne~ ★★★★☆ [3.5]
Okay yes I did read most of this in November, but it was quite a hefty read so I actually didn’t finish this until the beginning of December! As it spans the two months I thought I would add the book to this month’s list, especially as I did get round to writing the review this month too (thanks Blogmas). This was definitely an epic fantasy, reminiscent of the Game of Thrones TV series (I haven’t read the books). I’m still a bit undecided on the first book, but it is interesting enough to make me  want to try the sequel!

 

 22819449
Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo: ★★★★☆ [3.5]
I jumped on the bandwagon with this one, mainly because I am dying to read Six of Crows and I wanted to read this trilogy first! I did enjoy the storyline, and I felt parts of it were really unique. However it didn’t grip me as much as I was expecting, and I am still wrapping my head around the whole Grisha order. I’m definitely still going to continue the series, so it wasn’t terrible!

 

 

23830523A Christmas Gift by Stella Wilkinson: ★★☆☆☆ 
So I didn’t realise how short this story was when I picked it out/read it, so I was a bit disheartened by this book (which was my own fault, I admit).It wasn’t as festive as I had thought it was going to be, although the story was really cute. I do think it is aimed at a much younger audience though, for “tweens” or those in the lower years of secondary school (12-15).

 

 

18460392
All the Bright Places
 by Jennifer Niven: ★★★☆☆

I was really interested in reading about the emotional/personal side of mental illness in this book, I do have a lot of praise for a YA novel discussing such prevalent yet so-called ‘taboo’ subjects like mental illness, suicide and abuse. It was a good story, but it wasn’t really my cup of tea, and I didn’t feel as emotionally invested as I thought I would, which is a shame.

 

28118037
Metaltown by Kirsten Simmons: Review TBA
I was so excited to read this book, as I had featuered it in a previous Anticipated Releases post. It was a really good story, and I felt for all the main characters’ problems. But I did feel it was a bit cliché at times, and I didn’t get as immersed as I thought I would. Honestly I’m still making up my mind about this book- I think the cover is really cool though!

 

18758388
Revealed by P.C. and Kristin Cast: ★★★☆☆

This was a real last-minute read before 2016 ended. It is a re-read, as I wanted to refresh my memory before reading the last book in the 12-book series next month. I always have mixed feelings with this novel; the writing really annoys me at times, but I have followed the story for so so long that I still want to find out what happens? Only one book to go- I’m so intrigued!

Note: As this is a re-read I won’t be reviewing this book!

 

Wow, this is definitely a lot more than I remember getting through, especially as I was so busy this December! 🙂

Covers here are taken from Goodreads!

****

December Blog Posts

Okay, so I decided to do Blogmas this month- and I honestly can’t believe I managed to complete it!! This is so surprising, more because I did not prepare a single post in advance >.<

This meant I spent many an evening rushing to get a post on time (sometimes they were a little late), but I am so proud that I managed to get a post out for every day until Christmas 🙂 As a result I have posted a tonne this month, so here is the super-long post list!

Blogmas!!! ..really?

{Blogmas Day 2} November Wrap-Up// December TBR

{Blogmas Day 3} Oxford Trip

{Blogmas Day 4} A New Bookish Love

{Blogmas Day 5} My Anticipated December 2016 Releases!

{Blogmas day 6} 3 days, 3 quotes tag, day 1

{Blogmas day 7} 3 days, 3 quotes tag, day 2

{Blogmas day 8} 3 days, 3 quotes tag, day 3

{Blogmas Day 9} Review: Vassa in the Night

{Blogmas Day 10} Banana & Gingerbread Loaf

{Blogmas Day 11} 24.

{Blogmas Day 12} Book/series I can always rely on for a good time

{Blogmas Day 13} Apologies

{Blogmas Day 14} Review: Nothing Tastes As Good

{Blogmas Day 15} National Christmas Jumper Day!

{Blogmas Day 16} Review: Malice

{Blogmas Day 17} Beauty and The Beast Tag!

{Blogmas Day 18} My Top 5 Christmas films ♥

{Blogmas Day 19} Books I am looking forward to in 2017

{Blogmas Day 20} My favourite Christmas tunes!

{Blogmas Day 21} Kew Gardens at Christmas

{Blogmas Day 22} Review: Shadow and Bone

{Blogmas Day 23} Review: A Christmas Gift

{Blogmas Day 24} Christmas Traditions

{Blogmas Day 25} Merry Christmas!

December 2016 Book Haul!

Review: All the Bright Places

 

Oh gosh, I’ve never seen so many posts in one place! I’m so amazed and so happy that I kept up with it- and if you managed to read them all, THANK YOU

****

2016

As it is the end of 2016 I thought I would do a yearly wrap-up as well as a December wrap-up 🙂

As of the 22nd December I had been blogging at this site for 6 months!!!

supernatural-excited-shock
source: giphy.com

I can’t believe it; it has been really fun to get involved in the book-blogging community and keep up with my reading. Since starting this blog I have been keeping more up-t0-date with book news, as well as buying/reading more new releases. I am still enjoying keeping my reading updated through blogging, so I am excited to keep it going in 2017!

****

Since starting my blog at the end of June I have also read 24 books. I know there are SO many bloggers out there who read way more than I have, but I am really proud of my current total, as it averages out at around 4 books a month 🙂 I’m also quite amazed as most of these reads have been new books I have bought, rather than simply being re-reads from my bookshelves (that are now full to bursting, might I add).

****

In terms of a general 2016 update, it hasn’t been the most fulfilling year. I was working in a job that wasn’t doing much for me until April, then I was unemployed for 6 months while I tried my best to find a publishing job. In the end I only managed to get 2 week’s of publishing experience, and then I got a temporary job working in the Customer Support section of a book chain. It’s not a bad job, but I still need to get closer to my goal of working in publishing, therefore I still feel stuck in a rut.

I never lost the weight I had planned; my weight crept up and then stayed stuck in the same place for most of the year, no matter what I was doing. My heart just hasn’t been in it. And let’s not talk about what’s been going on in the world, with politics, deaths and all sorts.

One thing I did enjoy though was meeting up with my best best friend when she came back to the UK for a holiday/road trip with me ❤ It healed my heart! I also enjoyed going to YALC for the first time ever 🙂

2016 definitely hasn’t been my most favourite year, but hopefully that means 2017 can be a lot better!

****

Well, that’s 2016 all wrapped-up! If you made it this far then thank you so much for reading 🙂

I’m really happy with my progress this month, and well, I guess I will see all you beauties in the New Year!

How was everyone elses’ December? Have you had a productive 2016? Let me know in the comments! ♥

3 thoughts on “December Wrap-Up- 2016 is over!

Leave a Reply

