Bookishness · Books · Hauls

January Haul Part 1: Amazon treasures

Hello hello!

So the year has only just started and I’ve already got a book haul for you. I do prefer buying my books in actual bookstores, as I love browsing and choosing the perfect book (there is only so much you can see of a book by looking online).

However, Amazon is a great way for me to buy books that I just can’t get hold of that easily in the UK. In this case a lot of these books are US hardbacks, that haven’t yet seen on the shelves in the bookshop I work with. I did have some of these books on my Christmas list, but I didn’t end up getting them. The bookish part of my brain couldn’t accept that, and so I crept on Amazon and bought them instantly ><

books-merlin
source: giphy.com

 

I also got a Kindle voucher from my little brother, so of course I had to buy some ebooks along the way!

This post is a bit longer than I expected despite it only being partway through January, but let’s get stuck in:

 

Physical Books

p1030582-edit

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraída Cordova
So I’ve been wanting to read this book ever since I highlighted it in my Anticipated September Releases post last year <3. However I have never seen it in the shops, so I’ve just been ogling the cover online. I mean look at it– it’s so gorgeous! I am so happy to add this to my collection, the Hispanic bruja storyline sounds like a nice blend of tradition and magic in a more modern setting- I’m so excited!

 

p1030578-edit

Into White by Randi Pink
Another book from my September Releases post. I adore the cover of this hardback, it stands out so much to me, I love it. This book is also really hard to find, as on Amazon I can only see the hardcover and an audio book. Essentially the book is about Toya Williams, who hates her blackness in a predominately-white neighbourhood. God answers her prayers and turns her white, and she find out whether her life gets any better or not. This has the potential to be really good or really bad (there are mixed reviews on Goodreads, but I haven’t read too much about them because of spoilers), but I am still really intrigued to see how this story goes!

 

p1030569-edit

A Shadow Bright and Burning by Jessica Cluess
Once again, another book from my September Anticipated Releases post (I’m clearly on a roll this month). This story sounds super interesting: Henrietta Howell can burst into flames, leading other sorcerers to believe she is the prophesised one. Except she’s not, and has to play a game of deception to save her life and her city. This is right up my street, and with that gorgeous cover, what’s not to like!? ❤

 

p1030580-edit

The Legend of Eli Monpress by Rebecca Aaron
Okay, so this series sounds awesome. This book is an omnibus edition of the fist three (short) novels in the series: The Spirit Thief, The Spirit Rebellion and The Spirit Eater. They are about protagonist who is… wait for it… a magical thief. A wizard and a thief? I’m in already. The cover reminds me a little of a cocky Aladdin, and this book sounds so fun. I can’t wait to get stuck in!

 

 

Ebooks

 

bardugo-1

Siege and Storm and Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo
Yep, so I got the final two books in the Grisha trilogy. I reviewed the first book Shadow and Bone during Blogmas and, while the book wasn’t amazing, I definitely wanted to finish the series so I could read Six of Crows. As my brother got me a Kindle voucher I rushed online straight away so I could get these two books. I haven’t read anything about the books so I’ll be going into them blind- I can’t wait!

****

Okay wow, when I bought these books I didn’t actually realise how many were inspired from the same September blog post? Well, it’s clear they were definitely anticipated!

I’m really happy with the books I have got from Amazon, and I can’t wait to get stuck in! 🙂

Have you bought any books recently? What are you looking forward to buying? Let me know in the comments!

6 thoughts on “January Haul Part 1: Amazon treasures

  1. I do love to look at books at bookstores too. Great haul! I need to read those two ebooks you got there. I read book 1 and liked it. Hey, do you want to do a buddy read on Labyrinth Lost? I have that ebook but haven’t read yet. I am also looking for your Simon review but I guess you haven’t write yet 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I like the informal Buddy Read. We just plan to read 2-4 chapters a day. Then share our thoughts through Twitter each day after we read. After we finished, we will schedule our review to post on the same day. I also like to do Q &A. We each ask 3 questions and we both answer our questions then when we write our reviews, we each add 3 questions and our answers in our separate reviews. That way, your blog post will have both of our thoughts of the book in your review and same goes with my blog post. Let me know if you are up for it 🙂 Makes the reading a bit interesting and good for our blog to have a bit of collaborations.. not sure if it brings new followers but I think it might.. no guaranteed.. haha..

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

