Books · Reviews

Review: Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda

19547856
Title: Simon Vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Author: Becky Albertalli

Genre: YA, contemporary, LGBT, romance

Pages: 303

Published: 2015 (UK)

Publisher: Penguin

Format: Paperback

Acquired: Bought at my work’s bookstore

Rating: ★★★★☆

 

Book Blurb:: Simon Spier is sixteen and trying to work out who he is- and what he’s looking for.

But when one of his emails to the very distracting Blue falls into the wrong hands, things get all kind of complicated.

Because, for Simon, falling for Blue is a big deal…

****

This book give me such happy feelings, it’s so FRIGGIN’ ADORABLE! ❤ I loved this waaay more than I expected, and I can see why it was so hyped up.

too-precious-for-this-world
source: giphy.com

 

The book focuses on Simon Spier, a high-school student who is gay, but hasn’t decided to ‘come out’ to his family and friends. It is during this time he makes friends online with Blue, a fellow student who is in the same situation as him. They don’t know who they are in the school as they use the pseudonyms Blue and Jacques, but during their email conversations they confide in each other and become a lot closer. When someone at school finds out about the emails to Blue, Simon gets into a complicated situation about managing who he is, his relationship with his friends, and his relationship with Blue.

****

So this book was a really addicting read; despite its important themes it has such a light and humorous tone that makes the pages fly by- I think it only took me a few hours! And ahh, it was so darn adorable ❤ ❤ Throughout the book I did have a few suspicions about who Blue was, and after a few slip-ups I manage to figure out his identity in the last half of the book (mwahaha). 🙂 And it was really cute! My gosh it did keep me guessing though, it definitely wasn’t obvious at the beginning.

I really enjoyed the messages between Blue and Jacques too. I mean sure, they are SOOO cringy (as you’d expect from a teenage conversation online), it reminds of my MSN days where you talk about the most awkwardly-random things. But that makes it dorky enough to keep me grinning and rooting for Simon- even if he does have a bit too much love for people sometimes. I also love the reference for Jacques! I honestly didn’t get it until it was spelled out for me, but gosh it made me chuckle! 🙂

****

The actual plot of the story is really relaxed and light-hearted (typical school life), while also trying to work out who mystery Blue is. But it’s amazing that it has this easy vibe while also talking about lots of different topics, especially the scary scenario of “coming out” as gay… and the ridiculousness that they have to announce their sexuality at all. There was also a lot of crushes and romance drama, as well as the development of friendships and their challenges during high school. It all fit it so perfectly that I didn’t realise all the different issues that were discussed, which worked really well!

In terms of the characters Abby was so precious, and such a good egg. I love how she always went way overboard with costumes, it made me chuckle. Although Leah is really grumpy I really did feel for her. I’ve felt the same way she did regarding friendships, so I know how difficult it is to confront someone.

I love Blue as a character- he seems so mature “switched-on” about life (even with his jokes), except when it comes to revealing his sexuality. He was very reserved, but whenever he revealed his emotions and how he was feeling, it meant you could tell it was genuine. I just wanted him to be happy, he’s such a cutie!! ❤

Simon was an okay character too. He has a nice friendly personality and I can definitely see him in a typical school environment: loved by all, while making awkward and silly teen decisions to try and figure out his life and who he is. The one negative thing that I didn’t like so much was that I didn’t really feel any of Simon’s emotions? I mean, I definitely enjoyed the book, but the way it was written felt really detached, so it didn’t feel like he cared very much. ((That’s probably me though, as I realise a lot of my reviews mention my difficulty getting the emotions I want :P))

That said, the one time I did get his feelings was when he finally met Blue, and kept picking out really small details that he loved about him that you honestly wouldn’t have noticed unless you really cared about someone/were staring at them a lot.

Oh, oh, and the ending is the cutest thing ever!! ❤ I couldn’t stop grinning, and it was so nice for so many characters 🙂 The actions were all adorable, and I am just so so happy. 🙂

****

In short, this is a really nice and happy book about a guy finding himself while also finding love. I found it was a great relaxing read, and just adorable in every way. Definitely have major love for this story, I’m 100% recommending it.

I also heard that they are making it into a movie!? That’s exciting- I hope they do a good job!

Have you read this book? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!

Rating: star-1star-1star-1star-1

p1030585-edit

Leave a Reply

