Books · Reviews

Review: Morning Star

Title: Morning Star

Author: Pierce Brown

Genre: Sci-fi, dystopian

Pages: 518

Published: 22nd September 2016

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Format: Paperback

Acquired: Bought in local bookstore

Rating: ★★★★☆


Book Blurb:: If this is the end, I will rage towards it

Darrow is the Reaper of Mars. Born to toil, carved to fight, destined to lead. But he is a broken man. Exposed as a Red in a world ruled by Golds, he has been captured and tormented until he is something less than human. And yet, he is humanity’s last chance.

In facing a godlike, ruthless enemy, he must call on every last ounce of strength to prove that loyalty, friendship and love are more powerful than any coldhearted machine of war.

He has been first Red, then Gold. Now he must transcend them all. He must become the hero his people believe he is.


Also note: This is a continuation of a series so there will be spoilers! Read this review if you have already read the Red Rising series, or I guess even if you don’t plan on reading the series at all! Also I do want to point out that if you do want to read this book, it is vital that you have read book 1 and 2 in the series, otherwise you really wont know what’s going on.


So, I am in love with this series by Pierce Brown. Every book has been so exciting to read; I honestly don’t read a lot of sci-fi but this was simply amazing. As you already know I have reviewed Red Rising and Golden Son, and as soon as I read Golden Son’s shock-ending I just had to rush and read Morning Star straight away! And damn, it definitely didn’t disappoint.

This book starts 9 months after the end of Golden Son, where we find out what happened to Darrow and his friends after the shock betrayal in the second book. There was no build-up and this book certainly started off with a bang! I mean, with death and torture right in the first few chapters it definitely sets a precedent for what’s to come! Plus I err… love seeing characters get hurt and show their insecurities (sorry I’m mean to the poor babies). Actually it was really refreshing to see a different, weaker side to Darrow throughout, especially given all the strength and amazing feats he has done so far.

Darrow’s simple infiltration mission from Red Rising had escalated dramatically; the truth is out and he returns to the Sons of Ares to find a full-on war between the rebellion and the Sovereign (who is accompanied with the Jackal). To try and bring change to all classes within the Society, Darrow must go above and beyond to unite everyone within and outside his group, to ultimately achieve his (and Eo’s dream).

 Like the rest of the books in the series, Morning Star keeps the same intricate plotlines, secrets and dastardly schemes that we all know and love. Brown really knows how to keep the pace alive, and every time you think you have the plan solved in your head, it will suddenly change- you just can’t help by read on.

This book definitely felt more mature that the rest of the series, you could really get the impression that everything is at stake now (even more so than before). Every time something changed or went wrong, I really felt for their cause! Morning Star has a much grander vibe, totally like an epic space opera. That said, I did feel as if this book took a lot longer to read than the others. It could be that there was a lot more to take in, but it may also be that the book was so much more intense that I couldn’t read too many chapters in one go.

There was a lot of interesting events and plans that appeared throughout the book, but there was also a lot of preparation for the climax, which felt a bit long at times. However, OH GOSH the ending was excellent. In every book of the series Pierce Brown has excelled at creating dramatic, fast-paced endings, and Morning Star was no exception. Deaths, betrayals, reverse betrayals (if that’s even a thing) and a dramatic finale, it’s all there. So much happened, and I must have gone through so many emotions! I wasn’t expecting what happened with the Jackal and Sevro, or even Cassius! And of course, Darrow’s ending with Mustang was amazing, and a complete surprise! ❤ The last 100 pages or so were so thrilling, and exactly was Brown does best: a chain of gritty and completely unexpected events, that draw you in to some downright dramatic consequences. Amazing.


There are so many different characters in this book and I certainly wont talk about them all here, but I love how each one is different; they are all complex in their own way and I think Brown did a great job at visualising them in this book, and the entire series.

I just want to say, that Sevro is the greatest character. He has so many flaws (so, so many) and he really gets a bum deal for so many things, but I loved his sense of humour. He always put a smile on my face, and I just wanted everything to turn out okay for him! I adored his relationship with Ragnar too, it was amazing:

“You! Troll!” Sevro shouts. “I’m a terrorist warlord! Stop throwing me. You made me drop my candy!” Sevro looks at the floor of the hallway. “Wait. Where is it? Dammit, Ragnar. Where is my peanut bar? You know how many people I had to kill to get that. Six! Six!” Ragnar chews quietly above me, and though I’m probably mistaken, I think I see him smile.

Of course, I loved Darrow and his outrageous plans as always. He was definitely a lot more complex in this book, especially after seeing his vulnerabilities in the beginning. At times I did think he was a bit weak, but later I realised that he had actually become a lot more mature and aware of the consequences of his choices. I’ll always like Darrow, even if he is too lucky for his own good.

And Ragnar- poor baby Ragnar. Despite his immense size and history, he was just like a child! I loved his interactions, although I felt his ‘stay’ in his homeland was too short (I think there could have been a bit more development here). I really felt for him, and it was great to see his grow into the new world of freedom. I didn’t like his sister much though!


Overall this book was an excellent conclusion to the Red Rising series. There were times where my attention waned somewhat, where there was a bit too much talking considering there was a war to finish, but the intricate plot-twists/betrayals and that absolutely wonderful ending was exactly what I wanted in this book.

This series has been epic, and I am so surprised at how much I enjoyed it. Although I haven’t given each book a perfect score I do have to rate this series a full 5 stars. It is so thrilling and so much more impressive when you realise this piece of art is Pierce Brown’s debut series. Definitely a new favourite of mine.

There is also news that a Brown is due to release a new series based on the Red Rising trilogy soon (set 10 years after Morning Star), with the first book Iron Gold due for release in January 2018! After my success with this whole series so far I am definitely going to be giving it a go 🙂

Have you guys read this series yet? What did you think? Let me know in the comments!

Rating: star-1star-1star-1star-1



One thought on “Review: Morning Star

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s