Books · Reviews

Review: Moondust

33360888
Title: Moondust

Author: Gemma Fowler

Genre: YA, sci-fi, thriller

Pages: 287

Published: 2nd March 2017 (UK)

Publisher: Chicken House

Format: Paperback

Acquired: Review copy sent by the publisher*

Rating: ★★★★☆ [3.5]

 

Book Blurb:: A miracle energy source, lumite, has been discovered on the Moon. The dark days of future Earth- torn apart by war and energy crisis- finally appear to be over. Aggie, the violet-eyed poster girl for the mining company, Lunar Inc., is persuaded to campaign for a hopeful new future. But a chance meeting with one of the prisoner-miners, the darkly attractive Danny, changes her mind about everything she knows about her world…

 

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher, after requesting it via my workplace. Please note all opinions for this book are my own!

****

I honestly didn’t know what to expect for this book. At my work there are occasionally opportunities to request review copies from publishers, and I was lucky enough to be chosen by Chicken House to review Moondust. I’ll admit, I mainly requested this book for its absolutely gorgeous cover. I mean- look how pretty it is!!

P1030692 edit

I could just stare at it all day, I love all the simple purple tones against the black background. The purple colours are actually a lot warmer and more vivid than the image on Goodreads, I love it so so much ❤

****

This book does have a recommended age of 12+, so when I received it I was worried that it might be a bit too simplistic and boring for me. But I actually really enjoyed it!

Moondust follows the story of Aggie, who works in the peaceful Domestic Analysis department of Lunar Inc., away from the hubbub of the main energy mining departments on the Moon. The Moon contains a new power source called lumite- which has saved humanity after they wiped out all energy resources on Earth. However, Aggie is not the lowly worker that everyone thinks she is on the Moon. She is actually The Angel; the poster-child survivor of the terrible Adrianne tragedy 10 years before (an explosion of a new mining facility that killed so many, including her father). Although The Angel became a beacon of hope for humanity after that terrible event, eventually Aggie left that world, and hid away in the depths of Lunar Inc. as a normal worker.

However, with the rise of terrorist acts from FALL- a group who oppose the energy efforts of Lunar Inc., Aggie is pushed to resurface as The Angel once more, to help quash any more violence before it gets out of hand.

Still suffering with painful memories and panic attacks from Adrianne, Aggie is reluctant  to step back into the limelight, but forces herself to obey for the greater good of society. However, a chance meeting with one of the prisoner-miners, Danny, Aggie learns secrets about her world on Lunar Inc., which threatens to shake not only her life as she knows it, but the future of society  on the Moon and on Earth.

****

Well, I enjoyed this book a lot more than I thought I would. 🙂 It is aimed at what I would call the younger-teen readers so the writing is simpler than I am used to. It was a very quick and easy read (I finished it in a few hours during my commutes to work), but the mysteries surrounding Adrianne and Lunar Inc. really kept me intrigued the whole way through.

Some parts of the book were a bit predictable (as far as sci-fis go, anyway), and there is some insta-love, which I didn’t like as much. But I thoroughly enjoyed the inclusion of themes of energy, artificial intelligence and the sci-fi exploration that our own world could end up moving towards. The theme of energy in particular is one reason why I really wanted to read this book; it is such a current topic and I feel it is important to consider the what ifs that can happen in our quest to harvest what we can and keep our energy situation in-tact.

Oh gosh, but there were so many plot-twists! Moondust really keeps you entertained with its thriller-styled YA writing, by releasing small details throughout and allowing to guess what the secrets are for yourself. That said I really wasn’t expecting the revelations at the end at all! I mean there were so many twists, it made it a lot more exciting that I thought it was going to be. Celeste and Danny really surprised me!

The ending of this book was really fast-paced and full of action. But I was left feeling that it did end way too quickly, and it definitely could have done with a bit more fleshing out. I wasn’t expecting all the shock news and deaths though!

giphy-shocked
source: giphy.com

 

****

In terms of the characters, I did find Aggie really whiny and stressful. It did take a long time for her to grow on me as she felt a bit immature considering what has happened. That said I do think that I would act in a very similar situation if I was in her shoes, so I really shouldn’t judge! 😛

I loved Celeste though- she really surprised me with how sneaky she could be if necessary. A great ally to have on your side, I must admit. Oh, but my heart felt for her at the end though- I couldn’t believe the sacrifices she would make ❤

I enjoyed Seb and Danny as the male interests. I really liked Seb’s personality, while Danny did a good job at being the mysterious love interest. The nature of this book meant I could never tell when to trust either of them, but I was so shocked at Danny’s plot twists at the end (and there are few)! I didn’t know what to make of it, I am shocked and confused at the same time 😛

****

Overall I enjoyed Moondust a lot more than I thought I would. It can be a bit predictable at times, but it is really gripping, and it definitely surprised me towards the end with all the plot twists. I think that it definitely could be fleshed out a bit more in some of the sections, but this debut novel is a dramatic and action-packed YA that deals with so many interesting and crucial topics in our developing world. I loved the energy-based storyline so I would definitely recommend reading it (despite some clichés). 🙂 🙂

Rating: star-1star-1star-1star-1-5

P1030697 edit

Leave a Reply

