Bookishness · Books · Hauls

March Book Haul!

So guys, I have an issue. I told myself that I should cut back on buying books, and just do a Spring haul rather than continue the current trend of having a book haul every month.

But.. umm, I couldn’t stop myself. Before I knew it I had bought a mountain of books in the first two weeks of March alone! I honestly thought I was doing really well at curbing my book spending >w<

So yes, I’m back with another book haul (I guess there are worse problems to have?). I got a good mix of sequels and first books in a series, and I used my work discount for the majority of them. Okay, let’s just get stuck in!

 

****

Physical Books

P1030716 edit

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Yup, as soon as I finished Red Queen I just had to buy the sequel. The first book ended in such a dramatic fashion that I really want to see what happens next! I don’t like the cover as much as the Red queen, but I’m hoping the plot is just as exciting.

P1030717 edit

The Last Four Things by Paul Hoffman

Another sequel! I read The Left Hand of God aaages ago, and while I remember the first book worked well enough as a standalone I’ve always been intrigued in its sequel. Working with a book chain I discovered there weren’t many copies left within the whole company, so I thought it was worth buying this book while I still could. I really like the world of this series, so I’m hoping book two is a good one!

P1030713 edit

Fire Study by Maria N. Synder

Okay, so I actually haven’t read book two in this series yet- Magic Study– so I’m getting a bit ahead of myself buying book three; but it was the only one left in the store so I got all panicky! I didn’t want it to disappear, so I just had to snap it up 🙂 I adored Poison Study though, so I have high expectations for the rest of the series.

lynch books2

Red Seas Under Red SkiesThe Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch

As you can tell, I’m going a bit crazy with the sequels this month. These beauties are book two and three of the Gentlemen Bastards series, and as soon as I finished The Lies of Locke Lamora I stormed straight out to buy the rest of the series (so far). It was actually Republic of Thieves that originally intrigued me into this series, so I honestly cant wait to continue Locke Lamora’s saga and get to the deathly poison book (I’m so sadistic!).

P1030729 dit

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

This book has received so much hype, but when it was released I wasn’t 100% convinced on it. That said the cover is absolutely gorgeous, and after seeing it absolutely everywhere the hype eventually persuaded me to give it a chance. I was also lucky to find a signed edition in my local store too!

P1030714 edit

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers

Another one I’ve been interested in but wasn’t convinced enough to buy it earlier. As you may or may not know, I love stories involving crews and bands of misfits. This novel is definitely one of those, but I was worried I wouldn’t like the sci-fi element of it. After reading (and loving) a couple of sci-fi books recently I decided I should give this one a go, especially as this book has received so many good reviews!

P1030723 edit

The Sentinel Mage by Emily Gee

I kept seeing this book on the shelves of my bookstore and it definitely appealed to me. I mean, it has a woman shapeshifting as a man to act as his bodyguard? I was intrigued to see how that would play out in a traditional fantasy. However I never bought it because this is book one of a series, and for some reason book one’s dimensions are so much smaller than the rest of the series! 😦 The book-nerd in me didn’t know if she wanted that drama on her bookshelf… but curiousity won out and I eventually caved in. 😛

mclellan books

Promise of Blood & Sins of Empire by Brian McClellan

Okay, so I have to explain this one a little. I originally saw the cover of Sins of Empire, and I was really intrigued. Looking into this further I realised that it had been published only this month, and it was based in the same world as the Powder Mage series- a series which starts with Promise of Blood. I didn’t know if I wanted to dive into a world when I hadn’t read the original series, so I bought the first books of both. I couldn’t resist- okay!? It is a fantasy world that mixes magic and empires with a gunpowder-era, which sounds really exciting.

Ebooks

The Key (The True Reign Series Book 1) by [Davis, Jennifer Anne]

The Key by Jennifer Anne Davis.

I have had this on my “Kindle Watch List” for a while. The story of a brutal kingdom was really interesting, but I didn’t know if the story itself would be a cheesy instalove. However, this book has recently become free on the Amazon Kindle Store, so at this point I can’t really say now to buying it 😛 I’m excited to give it a go!

****

So there we go! I definitely need to cut down on my book-spending soon, I’m sure I have enough books to last me the year already!

I’m going to keep using the excuse that I am buying so many as I have a discount at work until the end of April. I’ll probably do one more huge haul next month, but then I really need to slow down on the book-buying; I don’t know when I am going to read all these treasures!

Have you bought any beauties recently? Have you read anything on this list? Let me know in the comments!

5 thoughts on “March Book Haul!

  1. Sorry.. didn’t realized how I have unfollowed you but I follow you again.. That’s a huge haul eh? 🙂 I have heard Rebel of the Sand is a great read. I don’t recognize some other books you have there. If you are reading the books you buy, that isn’t bad. I don’t read the books I buy which is bad hehe..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh really? Aw don’t worry, thanks for following me back though! Gosh I know, I didn’t mean to buy as many as I did! I do try to read what I buy, but I’ve bought so many recently that I must have at least 50 books on my TBR now, haha! I’m sure we’ll both get through our book collections one day!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

