Books · Reviews

Review: A Conjuring of Light

32200595
Title: A Conjuring of Light

Author: V. E. Schwab

Genre: Fantasy

Pages: 666

Published: 21st February 2017

Publisher: Titan Books

Format: Paperback

Acquired: Bought at local bookstore

Rating: ★★★★★ [4.5]

 

Book Blurb:: The precarious equilibrium among the four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise. Kell- once assumed to be the last surviving Antari- begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. Lila Bard, once a commonplace- but never common- thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control her magic, before it bleeds her dry.

Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery and the Night Spire crew are attempting to race against time to acquire the impossible, as an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown and a fallen hero is desperate to save a decaying world…

 

Note: As this is review is about book 3 in the series, there WILL be spoilers for the whole series. I’ll try not to say too much, but only read this is if you have already read the trilogy!

****

Oh my gosh, I can’t believe this trilogy has ended! I was so pumped when A Conjuring of Light was released in February- mainly because of Kell and Rhy- that I had to go out and buy it as soon as publication day arrived. Sneaky plug- you can see my reviews for book one and two here and here.

So, where are we for book three? Well, Kell and Rhy have an inexplicable bond which, while painful for the two of them, causes so much love for my sadistic heart. Lila is actually an Antari, and she is trying to get to grips with her newfound power. Black London has invaded White London, and has been causing havoc for the Maresh Empire in Red London.

In A Conjuring of Light, everything that has happened in book one and two culminates in to a grand finale. I don’t want to give too much away, but an ancient enemy is now free and causing mayhem in Red London. Kell, Lila and Alucard team up with unlikely ally Holland to go on a grand quest to defeat the unleashed evil. With a lot of fights, home truths and magic, this book leads you on twists and turns in an epic adventure, where right and wrong is not always as clear-cut as it appears.

P1030738

****

I have to hand it to Schwab, she really knows how to write a good book. I always find it hard to describe her writing; on one hand I find it to be very orderly and “done by the book”. That’s not to say that is a stereotypically manufactured novel, but everything seems to be thought of and tied up quite nicely in little separate arcs. This is the only series I’ve read so far where I can see that order woven throughout the story, and personally it is a bit weird for me. However, Schwab writes characters so so well, and I honestly couldn’t wait to get back into the world and see the babies again.

A Conjuring of Light started off in the same dramatic style we all know and love, and continued exactly where A Gathering of Shadows left off. I was hooked from page 1.  And there is so much going on in this book it’s unreal. I mean, it is a hefty one at an ominous 666 pages!! I’ll admit I did lose interest slightly while trying to find the correct artefact, but overall this book was really compelling. You definitely get your fair share of twists- I mean when you thought things couldn’t get bad enough for the four Londons something else would happen and completely shake things up. It was a sense of never-ending desperation and I felt so sorry for all the characters when something didn’t go right, but it was wonderfully done. I loved it.

 Also, there were so many shock events! When things got really bad in Red London, I honestly didn’t expect so many deaths. I always thought Red London had some special, unwritten protection, but it was certainly anyone’s game in this book. It was all very dramatic, Schwab completely swept me away.

The ending was so bittersweet too! Holland’s ending was so lovely- you learn a lot more about his background in this book, so his ending did make me smile. The last line of his chapter was poetic and gave me so much hope! In general the endings were okay, but I didn’t feel 100% satisfied. I think that after everything that had happened, I don’t trust Schwab to aim towards a happy ending? That said Kell’s ending is such a tease! I really wanted to know more about how he was feeling… and to be honest there was scope there for my baby to have a bit more anguish/suffering (I love you Kell but I love the suffering more).

****

Speaking of characters, there isn’t a single character I didn’t like (okay, well maybe psycho Osaron). Schwab wrote all of them beautifully, all with their own flaws and problems that they have to overcome. I loved them straight away in book one, and it has been wonderful to follow their journeys to the end ❤ This story is written in numerous POVs, so we really get to see the depth of each character unfold. Holland’s storyline left me so conflicted; I had so many feelings I didn’t know what to do with them!

I also have an unhealthy love for Kell. His appearance, his background, his sacrificing personality… I love everything. ❤ I just want to watch over him, my baby! He suffers and tries to protect everyone so much throughout the series, and A Conjuring of Light was no exception. He was a bit shaky in AGoS, but he didn’t disappoint in this book at all. I do like seeing my favourite characters suffer though and he does get hurt a lot, maybe that’s why I love Kell so much. The only thing I was a bit bummed about was that we never got to find out what the ‘L’ initial meant! I understand that it was a choice, but damn I’m curious! (((Schwab, maybe we need a novella????)))

Rhy grew on me a lot in book 2, and I definitely have a soft spot for him now. I love the sibling relationship he has with Kell (in all its forms), and despite everything that has happened he is so darn caring to everyone! He had to deal with some horrible revelations about his identity and his kingdom, and I just wanted to give him a hug and tell him everything will be okay. I felt for him and his insecurities, and he was super brave. I just want him and Kell to be happy!

Alucard and Lila were also amazing. I’ll admit I didn’t like Lila as much as the boys (can you tell that I just want book-boyfriends?), but I did love her feisty personality and her witty comments- even if she was utterly reckless at times! We got to see her grow up a lot more and let people in, which was really heart-warming (if a little strange). We also saw a lot more of Alucard’s weaknesses. He was a really interesting character, and he has definitely grown on me. I wasn’t expecting him to get a happy ending, but I loved how developed his personality was.

Also- Hastra was too innocent for his own good! My heart broke a little! ❤ ❤

too-precious-for-this-world
source: giphy.com

****

It has been an absolute pleasure to read A Conjuring of Light, and although my brain still has some issues with it I refuse to let that affect me. I’m going to be a bit biased and my love for the series and the characters will overrule any niggles on this occasion. 🙂 Kell alone increases the rating from 4 to 4.5! ❤

Overall this series has been simply amazing. The writing is splendid, the pacing is full-on, and the characters are diverse, developed and complex. A Conjuring of Light was a bit bulky, but it was a great end to an epic saga.

I’m actually a bit sad that the series is finished and we wont get to see any more London adventures. I didn’t really know what to do with myself once I got to the end. I miss the worlds and Kell and Rhy already! ❤

Have any of you finished this series? What did you think? Pleeease let me know in the comments!

Rating: star-1star-1star-1star-1star-1-5

IMG_1164 edit
Picture taken outside Buckingham Palace… in Grey London?

 

Leave a Reply

