Books · Reviews

Review: Rogue

23168406
Title: Rogue

Author: Julie Kagawa

Genre: YA, urban fantasy

Pages: 444

Published: 2015

Publisher: MIRA Ink

Format: Paperback

Acquired: Bought in local bookstore

Rating: ★★★★☆ [3.5]

 

Book Blurb:: Deserter. Traitor. Rogue

Ember Hill left the dragon society Talon to join rebel dragon Cobalt and his crew of rogues. But Ember can’t forget the sacrifice made for her by Garrett, the human soldier who saved her from an assassin and doomed himself.

Determined to save Garrett from execution, Ember must convince Cobalt to help her break into the headquarters of mysterious dragonslayers the Order of St. George. With assassins after them and Ember’s own brother helping Talon with the hunt, a reckoning is brewing. The secrets hidden by both sides are shocking and deadly.

Soon Ember must decide: Should she retreat to fight another day… or start an all-out war?

Note: This is the second book in the series, and so there will be some spoilers from book 1! Do not read this review if you haven’t yet read Talon yourself, just in case.

****

Okay, so I’ll be honest; I’ve found it really difficult to review this book. Mainly because my brain can’t justify what I’m feeling very well. I thoroughly enjoyed reading Rogue, but looking back on it I can’t easily pinpoint why! Now that I’ve finished, my brain can only pick out what isn’t good about the book, so I apologise in advance. I’ll try not to make this review too skewed one way or another.

So when I read Talon, the first book in the series, I thoroughly enjoyed the storyline and I couldn’t wait to get stuck into its sequel, Rogue. Book 2 starts pretty much where Talon left off; with Garrett being arrested by St. George for treason and Ember leaving Talon to join with Cobalt as a rogue.

As mentioned in the blurb Ember still has a soft spot for Garrett, and wants to rescue him from execution by St. George before its too late. Of course this requires help from Cobalt, who dislikes the organisation just as much as Talon. And Cobalt has his own worries trying to protect all of his rescued rogue dragons from Talon. With enemies on both fronts, and Ember’s brother Dante trying to track the rogues down on Talon’s behalf, this book is full of action with far-reaching consequences for all organisations- especially Ember, Garrett and Cobalt.

****

I have a confession: whenever I pick up one of these books in the series, I immediately think I’m not going to like it, as it feels too much like a tween cheesy paranormal/fantasy romance. I guess my brain kind of judges it will have a similar vibe to the Twilight saga (although that is definitely a guilty pleasure of mine). However, just like Talon, I find the flow of this book really easy to get into. It was so so addictive and I just couldn’t stop reading!

engrossed reading.gif
source: giphy.com

 

The pace was really good,  and I really enjoy Kagawa’s style of writing. However, despite how much I enjoyed reading the book, I really didn’t feel as immersed and invested in the story as I would like to be. Well except the beginning when Garrett was in prison- I like that scene (I’m always so mean to my faves)! I am quite picky with what I would call a good book, and sadly this one definitely didn’t ‘sweep me away’. This book was still a good read but I honestly preferred Talon.

Looking back on the story it’s not even that it was bad? I think for me I did feel like this was just setting up the story for the next book? The events in this book didn’t really do it for me as it felt a lot like a “side-quest” of sorts, but I can still see their importance in the general series. Especially when you take the epilogue into account- it really added a lot of tension and definitely made me want to pick up book 3!

I was also surprised at the new addition Faith (Ava not so much). It definitely didn’t pan out how I expected, which was such a shame!

****

I have to say, Garrett is still my favourite character. He is so good at what he does, and it is really nice to see his emotions develop throughout. My heart ached for him whenever he got hurt though!

Ember, on the other hand, is a lot more difficult to digest. I mean I love her strength and personality- she is determined and I love her snappy comments. But gosh, she is too reckless! Her stubbornness is so annoying when she purposely gets herself into stupid situation, just because she is ‘bored’! I mean seriously Ember, take a chill pill and look at the bigger picture. It was also annoying how she couldn’t explain her feelings to Garrett- even if you are having difficulties between love and instinct, at least tell him you are confused or something! Poor guys, haha.

It was nice to see a glimpse of Cobalt’s backstory, although it wasn’t as tragic as I thought it would be (but maybe that’s because it’s a young YA rather than an adult fantasy). You can see that he is just a good guy at heart, and I would love to see more of his personality and dependable nature shine through 🙂

One character who I am still confused about though is Dante. He featured a lot more in Rogue than in Talon, especially as we got to have a direct POV of him, but even so he didn’t feature enough for me to know what he is thinking. I can’t tell if his is blinded by his goals, whether he is honestly a supporter, or whether he is in denial and just wants to get his sister -and his life- back to normal. In Rogue he shows loads of tactical skills, but he still doesn’t have enough development in the books for me to know how to feel about him! I’m hoping we get to see more of him in the next books, as my heart really wants to like him!

****

So, Rogue was certainly an interesting read! It definitely didn’t beat Talon, but it was better than I thought it would be, and so addictive. Although I’ve found this review difficult to write I generally do enjoy this series, and after that epilogue I am so pumped to find out what happens next!

Have you read this book? What do you think? Let me know in the comments!

Rating: star-1star-1star-1star-1-5

P1030789 edit 

Leave a Reply

