Bookishness · Books · Hauls

April Book Haul

Hello, hello!

I feel like everyone (except me) is getting a bit bored of seeing a book haul every month- sorry! But honestly, as you may or may not know I’ve been on a book-buying rampage as I had a hefty discount at my workplace. But my work contract has now ended, so going forwards I shouldn’t be buying as many books, I promise.

That said, as this was my last month with a discount, I did go a liitle crazy with the book buying!

whatsupwithallthesebooks
source: giphy.com

 

There are quite a lot to get through, so let’s not waste any more time:

 

Physical Books

P1030830 edit

Soldier by Julie Kagawa

So I finished Rogue at the end of March and, this is just one of those series’ that I just cant help but want to continue. So, I ended up buying book 3 of the series as soon as I could. I’m really to interested to see what else we find out about Talon and St George, as well as to see if I find out any more about Dante!

P1030824 edit

Crown of Midnight & Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

Another set of sequels! So this month I read Throne of Glass (a review will be coming at some point), and I really enjoyed it! As it is quite a large series I took the opportunity to get book 2 and 3 while I still have a discount. I liked Celaena a lot more than I thought I would, so I can’t wait to continue with the series 🙂

P1030823 edit

Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch

I’ll be honest here- I only bought this book as it is set in and around London, and includes my home town. I know this series has been super popular, but I’ve never really looked into it much, until now. The tone looks to be really entertaining, and to be honest I love the idea of there being supernatural beings in my local area! I’m excited to see what kind of adventures there will be.

P1030822 edit

Boneshaker by Cherie Priest

I’ve actually had this book on my watch list for a few years now, as I do love a good steampunk adventure. However I was never excited enough to buy it; but as it was my last month with a discount, it seems like the perfect opportunity to pick it up. It seems to be a steampunk zombie apocalypse novel with air pirates, and I am interested in giving it a go!

P1030831 edit

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli

This book was actually in my April 2017 Anticipated Releases post, and as soon as I saw it on the shelves I had an urge to pick it up. Based around Molly, a girl careful in the realms of romance (and unrequited love), she feels really relatable. I adored Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda and I hope this novel is just as cute!

P1030833 edit

Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

I wasn’t too sure about this book at first, but I have been digging a contemporary dystopian-style vibe recently and felt this would be perfect. It has received some pretty good reviews too, so I am kinda interested to see what all the hype is about 🙂 I’m interested to see how extreme the notions of ‘perfect’ and ‘flawed’ are, and hopefully it’s not too unbelievable in this story.

P1030832 edit

The City by Stella Gemmell

This is the debut of Stella, who is continuing to write after the death of husband and co-writer, David. Granted I haven’t read any of their books before, but the cover and plot did intrigue me with this one. I am worried it might end up being a bit cliché for a fantasy, but it caught my in the store at least 10 times, so I feel like it is only right that I give it a go and add it to my collection 🙂

P1030825 edit

Stranger of Tempest by Tom Lloyd

I actually received a sample chapter of this book while I was YALC 2016, and I really enjoyed it. When I saw that the paperback version was due to be published this month, I decided to rush out and get it 🙂 I really liked the tone of the chapter I had read, it seems like it might be an entertaining one! I’m really enjoying funny fantasy at the moment rather than the deep serious stuff, so hopefully these meets my expectations.

P1030826 edit

Sabriel by Garth Nix

Now, I’ve been picking this up at the store for months and month, but I kept putting it back as I wasn’t 100% sure I’d like it. But curiousity finally got the better of me, and I decided to buy it with the last of my discount 🙂 It seems to be a well-loved fantasy with a strong female lead- it’s one of those series’ that I hope meets the hype it has been awarded and one that will like. Let’s wait and see!

P1030827 edit

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

Now, this series is super popular. I’ve never picked it up until now as clairvoyance isn’t really something I am interested in as far as fantasy and paranormal fiction is concerned. But I saw this review post by Sprinkled Pages, and it really got me interested in trying this series out. And with a book discount, I don’t really have much of an excuse not to give it a go 🙂

P1030828 edit

The Painted Man by Peter V. Brett

Gosh, this is another book I’m been umming and ahhing about since I started my work placement. I was always hesitant to try this series as, although everything about it screams my name, I just didn’t want it to not meet my expectations and end up really cliché. However, I bet the bullet during my last week at work and decided to pick it up. I’m interested to see what kind of creatures demons are, and how Arlen’s personality is going to be like.

P1030829 edit

Among Thieves by Douglas Hulick

I really like the sound of this book- with thieves, relics, and general underworld dealings, what’s not to like? Having a flick through it seems to be quite entertaining, and I just like reading books about thieves. I think it is because they have a hero-come-anti-hero sort of vibe? And a lot of times they are written really well. Anyway, I’m excited to try this one out. 🙂

P1030835 edit

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

Okay, I was really surprised to find this book on the shelves where I work. I thought this book was due to be published in May, but Goodreads has two conflicting dates for a UK paperback and a Kindle version, which is confusing, but as soon as I saw it I just had to buy it. This is the last book in the trilogy, and it once again has an amazing cover. Now, I actually haven’t read book 2 yet, but the first one was so so cute that I feel like I’ll enjoy the whole series no matter what 🙂 So so happy to own this one!!!

P1030821 edit

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

I have heard so many good reviews for this book, and I can’t believe I haven’t picked this one up yet. I was a bit unsure how much of the fairytale element I would like, but I’m jumping on the bandwagon with this one. I am interested to see what the relationship between Agnieszka and the Dragon will be like though. Plus, the cover is absolutely beautiful, so if anything else I can just stare at it all day 🙂

P1030834 edit

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

I have had this book on my to-buy and Christmas lists for years. It was one of those books I always wanted to try, but I just didn’t want to spend money on it myself as I had so many other books to buy at the time. Eventually I’ve decided enough is enough, and used my discount to buy it. I actually haven’t read any of Gaiman’s work before (sorry!) but I know he is supposed to be an expert at his field, so I can’t wait to give it a go. Plus Neverwhere is about a supernatural London, which is one of my fave themes.

****

Ebooks

Rhapsodic (The Bargainer Book 1) by [Thalassa, Laura]

Rhapsodic by Laura Thalassa

This was actually in my November 2016 anticipated releases post, and I have been keeping my eye on it for a while. I’ve been mainly focussing on print books from my local store while I still have a discount, but I was suddenly notified that this book was only £0.99, so of course I had to snap it up! I haven’t read too many reviews about it, but I’m excited to give it a go.

Twelve Years a Slave: Narrative of Solomon Northup by [Northup, Solomon]

Twelve Years a Slave by Solomon Northup

I’ve been meaning to get this for a while, but just never got round to it? This was quite a cheap price for the Kindle, so I decided to snap it up. I still haven’t seen the film, but I feel like I should read the original text first before seeing a cinematic version.

****

Others

Okay, so my workplace’s head office were clearing out some of their old proof copies, so I managed to grab a copy of Those Above and The Relic Guild. I’ve been eyeing these books for a while, so this was an opportunity too good to miss.

I was also very lucky to attend #OrionBlogFest through an invitation at work, which I was super excited for. It was my first every bookblogger-related event, and it was amazing to see what is up-and-coming at Orion/Gollancz publishers 🙂 There were also talks by Joanne M. Harris, Ed McDonald, Dan Vyleta and Kristen Ciccarelli, which was really fun. At the end there was a chance to grab some free books, so a hoarder like myself just couldn’t resist. I would detail all the books I got, but here is a picture of my book swag:

P1030820 edit

I’m super happy to be a part of this event, thank you to Stevie and everyone at Orion for allowing me to enter the event ❤

****

If you managed to make it this far- well done and thank you! ❤ I am definitely becoming a bit of a book hoarder, but now I have finished my job I am going to be calming down on the book-buying, I promise. There are still a few books being released that I want to buy, but apart from those I am stopping myself from going overboard.

I hope you enjoyed this book haul, and of course let me know what you think!

Have you read any of these books? What books have you been buying? Let me know in the comments

P1030837 edit

2 thoughts on “April Book Haul

Leave a Reply

