Bookishness · Books · Wrap-Ups

April Wrap-Up// May TBR

Hello everyone! This is actually a scheduled post, as at the moment I am currently on holiday in Tokyo!!!!! I have been wanting to visit Japan for over 10 years, and I am so excited that it is finally happening 🙂 I’m going with my best friend too, so what could be better!?

I also finished my job this month. It was a bit of a bittersweet moment as, although the role could be hard at times, I really enjoyed the team I worked with. I’ll miss everyone there (and the book discount, haha). But my contract ended at a good time, as it means that I can enjoy my holiday freely without worrying about falling behind with work 🙂

As I am currently away this post is scheduled in advance. This holiday and the end of my work contract has meant that I have been really busy, and thus I have neglected my blog a little bit- sorry! I was supposed to spend April catching up on blog reviews and things, but that hasn’t happened at all. I promise I’ll get up-to-date as quickly as possible when I come back!

 

Okay, let’s just do a quick monthly wrap-up for April, shall we?

 

Books I’ve Read

Okay, so for April I had created another TBR list to choose from, as I had thought I would have a lot more time to read before I go away (I was wrong). I was planning on reading Snakewood, Siege & Storm, Ruin & Rising, The Traitor’s Blade, Throne of Glass and Unspeakable.

I sadly didn’t get through all of these books, which is such a shame. This month I read:

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass, #1)Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas~ Review TBA
After seeing so much hype for this series throughout social media and the blogging world, I decided to give it a go (while I could still get discounted books). And you know what? I actually enjoyed this one! I though Caelena was great and, while the romance wasn’t always necessary, it was still an enjoyable read. I’ve heard the series only gets better, which is quite exciting!

 

 

23209670
Traitor’s Blade by Sebastien de Castell~ Review TBA
I read this book as I wanted to try de Castell’s novels before his new YA-ish relese, Spellslinger. And I wasn’t disappointed. This book was great- I loved the tone (and the suffering) of the characters, and the ending was so nice! Can’t wait to read more of his books now 🙂

 

 

Snakewood
I am currently reading Snakewood by Adrian Selby. I actually DNF’d this book at the beginning of the month as it was taking such a long time to read. With my work discount coming to an end I wanted to start the above series’, just in case I needed to buy the sequels at a reduced price! I’m picking Snakewood back up again, but I am honestly finding it hard to get into. The writing isn’t my style at all, which is such a shame as I really do want to like it. I’m going to keep at it though (maybe I’ll read some on the plane)

****

Okay, so not only did I not read much this month, but I have not had the time to catch up on my reviews- so this section looks a little pathetic. Sorry! I’ll definitely make some time to catch up in May, I don’t like not being able to link reviews in these wrap-up posts.

 

April Blog Posts

March Wrap-Up// April TBR

April 2017 Anticipated Releases

Review: Rogue

March 2017 Fairyloot Unboxing!!

April Book Haul

 

****

Yeah, so this looks a little sparse 😦 I wanted there to be more review posts, especially after reading so much in March. Sorry guys!

May TBR

Okay, so I am due to come back home from my holiday in the second week of May, so I don’t want to give myself a huge list- I have SO many reviews to catch up on as it is.

After finishing Snakewood (if I haven’t already), this May I would like to read:

TBR

  1. Siege & Storm and Ruin & Rising by Leigh Bardugo~ This month I will definitely finished this Grisha trilogy, especially as I didn’t get round to it in April!
  2. The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli~ This book has been enticing me ever since I bought it, so I don’t think I can wait too long to read it! It looks super cute, a perfect read for on the plane home, or to relax once I return.
  3. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski~ I originally had this on my February TBR, but I didn’t get round to it. I keep wanting to pick this one up, but I’m never in the mood! I’m putting it on this list now in the hopes that I can finally get started on this series.
  4. The Dragon Lords- Fools Gold by Jon Hollins~ So I have been so excited to read this one, it seems right up my street! I mean, Ocean’s Eleven meets The Hobbit? YES. Although I bought this a while ago, I been a bit hesitant to actually add it to a TBR as 1) I don’t want the story to fall short of my expectations or 2) I don’t want a book hangover. But there is a sequel due later this year, so I feel like now’s the time.

****

So, that’s April all wrapped up! On one hand, I am really disappointed I didn’t read very much and I definitely didn’t catch up with any of my reviews 😦 On the other hand, I have been a lot busier in my personal life, so I’ll just have to make up for it next month. Well, at the very least we’ll find out when I come back from Japan!! 🙂

How was your April? Did you meet any of your goals? Let me know in the comments!

 

 

One thought on “April Wrap-Up// May TBR

  1. Love your May TBR! I love the Winner’s series! I am itching to read it again hehe.. and I still have yet to read book 2 and 3 of the Grisha Trilogy. I hope you will enjoy these reads!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

