life · Uncategorized

Top 10 Favourite Anime

Hello!

How are we all doing? I hope everyone has had a great weekend 🙂

So, last week I talked about my favourite Manga series. I have been a fan of anime and manga for a long time now and I felt it deserved a mention on my blog 🙂 This week I wanted to continue with the second part of the section this month: my top 10 Favourite Anime! Most of the time anime is based off a manga series, but there are a few that pop up without a book background. As with a lot of adaptations, sometimes anime just doesn’t do the manga justice. However, on other occasions I think it is done really well, or even better! Some of my favourite anime are also in my favourite manga list, so apologies if there are any clashes- but I do explain why I like them both, don’t worry!

Anyway, I’ve waffled on a little bit, so let’s just show you my 10 favourite anime shows (at the moment, anyway!):

 

Kuroshitsuji picture

1. Kuroshitsuji Yup, so straight away I’m going to talk about a series that was also in my Top 10 Manga list- Black Butler or Kuroshitsuji! Victorian London, demons, criminal underworld, I love it. The first few episodes follow the manga quite well, although the ending is certainly different! I didn’t like season 2 as much, but I adore the art of this anime. The music is wonderful, and I love how they captured the characters’ personalities! I have a lot of love for this series 🙂

 

Tokyo Ghoul

2. Tokyo Ghoul Okay, I love this series. I was going to put it in my favourite manga section, but I honestly prefer the anime much more. I find it much easier to grasp the angst and the fight scenes in the anime. The manga is still ongoing and I do enjoy it, but I find it so confusing! I never know who is speaking, and I don’t think the pacing is as fluid. But, the general storyline of Kaneki and the ghouls is amazing, I definitely recommend it! For those who don’t know, ghouls are monsters with high regenerative powers, and they eat human flesh. Kaneki is a human who is sadly involved in a tragic accident. He survives by having another victim’s organs transplanted into him, however that victim was actually a ghoul. This gory series follows Kaneki’s so-called ‘tragedy’ becoming a half-ghoul.

 

D.Gray-man

3. D.Gray-Man Aah, I love this series so much!! In a world where the Millenium Earl uses souls of the dead to create killing machines called Akuma, a team known as the Black Order use Innocence as weapons against them. Allen Walker has innocence in the place of his left hand, and this series follows his journey in the Black Order. Now, the manga is also amazing but, like Tokyo Ghoul, the anime explains the fights a lot easier. Plus, with over 100 episodes in season one (if you can call it a season), I feel like it follows the storyline pretty well. I’m still catching up on the second season, but I will always love this series. I used to love Lavi, but Allen definitely grew on me due to his storyline, poor baby always gets hurt!

 

Ouran Koukou Host Club

4. Ouran High School Host Club Ah, this one is so cute! I love this anime. Haruhi is poor, but gets a scholarship to study at an elite school for rich kids. While trying to find a quite place to study she encounters the Ouran host club, where good-looking boys entertain the girls of the school with tea, cake, and eye candy. Haruhi accidentally knocks a vase over in the club room, as is required to work in the club as a host to pay off the debt. But there is one problem… Haruhi is a girl! With hilarious characters, ridiculous antics and an emotional ending, Ouran High School Host Club is wonderfully fun. Oh, and the opening theme is so catchy (annoyingly so). It is always my go-to series when I am stuck on what to watch! ❤

 

Pandora Hearts

5. Pandora Hearts I couldn’t decide whether I liked the manga or the anime better for this series, but I watched the anime first so it had to win out. The story is really good- the manga is completely different (as it didn’t finish until recently), but I love the voice acting in the anime. Young noble Oz Vessalius has always heard tales of the perilous Abyss, but has only thought of it as a folktale used to scare children away from misbehaving. However, during his coming-of-age ceremony a clan called the Baskervilles burst in and suddenly banish him to the depths of the Abyss. Not only does Oz now have to survive its depths and the dangerous ‘Chains‘ that live within it, but he now has to try and make sense of these strange events, as his existence could change the fate of humanity. I love Oz so much, both the manga and the anime have really good revelations that I wasn’t expecting. I highly recommend it 🙂

 

Mirai Nikki (TV)

6. Mirai Nikki Okay, so I went in to this anime pretty blind, after hearing some good recommendations in the anime world. And although it has been a few years since I watched it I remember it being really good! Definitely creepy at times, but I was completely gripped. Main character Yuki is a bit of a nobody, spending his time writing on his cellphone diary (nikki) while talking to his imaginary friends, Deus Ex Machina and Murmer. However, it turns out that these are real entities (gods) and enters Yuki, along with 11 others, into a bloody battle royale of survival. Each participant is given a unique diary regarding the future, and the winner will be designated the new god of time and space. Yuki reluctantly partners up with his obsessive stalker Yuno Gasai, who vows to protect him. But does she have other plans? I think it is good to go into this series without reading much into it; I don’t watch a lot of thriller anime so this was really refreshing, and definitely a bit unnerving!

 

Sword Art Online

7. Sword Art Online This series has received a lot of hate, but I actually really enjoyed it! I went into it blind, so I really didn’t now what to expect. In this series, virtual reality has really hit off, and you can play games using your mind. One such game is Sword Art Online, which is newly released. However, on the release day, the owner tells all the users that they are trapped in the game! Any deaths that occur in-game occur in real life, and if a friend or family member tries to take the game helmet off you in real-life, you’ll also die. The only way to be safe? Someone has to complete the 100 levels of the RPG. Enter Kazuto (character name: Kirito) who, along with his new comrades, try to survive and complete this ruthless game. I loved this idea, and although the subsequent series did get a bit boring, the first season was really intriguing. It is very action-based, although it is a lot lighter than some of the other darker/gorier anime. I really enjoyed it, despite the mixed reviews!

 

Shingeki no Kyojin

8. Shingeki no Kyojin Most people might have heard about Attack on Titan, it was even popular with those who don’t watch a lot of anime! In a world where humanity was almost brought to extinction by monstrous humanoids called Titans, the remnants of civilisation hide within a city of concentric walls for 100 years. One day, a huge titan suddenly breaks through the wall, creating a huge massacre. After witnessing a tragedy during this event, Eren Yaeger decides to join humanity’s one army dedicated to eradicating the titans: the Survey Corps. However, all is not what it seems, and Eren may become the ace up the army’s sleeve. With a lot of drama and angst, this is something I hadn’t seen before. The manga is a bit more developed, but the anime has amazing fight scenes, as well as a wonderful art style and music. I love the anime much more, and I will always love watching this series (P.S. Season 2 is being released now!).

 

Kekkai Sensen

9. Kekkai Sensen Ugh, this promo image almost put me off trying this series out, but gosh this was so entertaining! One day New York City was suddenly covered in an impenetrable bubble and monsters were released. Now, these monsters live alongside the human locals, where everything is extraordinary. Leonardo Watch, arrives to the city after receiving “All-seeing Eyes of the Gods” at the expense of his sister’s eyesight. He joins a team called Libra to try and find some answers about his new powers, but this organisation gives him more than he bargained for. While the key storyline is really interesting, I think this series is more about the weird and wacky. I loved the comedy elements, and I was glued to my screen every week when this was released! If you want something a bit eccentric, I’d recommend this one 🙂

 

Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood

10. Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood Okay, there are actually two different anime series based on the manga: Fullmetal Alchemist and Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood. The first one has a different ending to Brotherhood (and the manga) as it was created while the manga series was still ongoing. Brotherhood released years later, and was thus able to follow the entire manga storyline. That said, both anime versions are amazing! ❤ Out of the two I think I prefer Brotherhood, as the ending was so much better. I love this series so much. The two protagonists- Edward and Alphonse- try to use alchemy to bring back their mother, but they lose Ed’s leg and Alphonse’s body in the process. With metal limbs and a metal suit, the brothers try to find the Philosopher’s stone to get things back the way they were. However they become involved in a national conspiracy that could threaten their very humanity.  I love the plot of alchemy, and the two protagonists- Edward and Alphonse Elric- go through such difficulties! With a lot of cool themes, and badass fights, I love this series so much. In fact, I want to rewatch it right now!! ❤

****

Ah, this was so hard to do! There are so many more that I love, like Haikyuu, Bungou no Dogs, Death Parade, and my old favourite, Pokemon. I also didn’t include any anime movies here like Studio Ghibli’s works, as they are completely different to standard anime series (in my opinion).

However, the above list is all the series that seem to stick the strongest in my mind at the moment. Compared to manga, where I am more inclined to read a mix of shoujo romance and shounen action, it’s clear that my anime faves tend to either be funny, or be full of action and emotion (especially gore or angst). My sadistic traits of seeing my faves get hurt aren’t just for when I’m reading, clearly! 😛

But there we have it- my top 10 anime series! I hope you guys have enjoyed reading. Do you watch any anime? Is so, which ones are your favourites? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Favourite Anime

  1. So many great shows on this list. It was fantastic to see D Gray Man get a shout out. It’s one of my favourite anime ever and it regularly gets overshadowed by bigger titles so I always get excited when it is remembered.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, another DGM fan! 🙂 I feel like it was popular for fanart a few years ago, but even when the new series was released, everyone just forgot about it? I will always love the D.Gray-Man storyline, it is definitely the first big series I fell in love with. Thank you for your lovely comment! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow great post! I’ve been looking around for some recommendations for anime and your post has really helped thank you! Growing up, I was a HUGE Fruit’s Basket geek. I loved the different zodiac characters and the humor of the series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, really? Yay- I’m so glad to hear it! If you find any new favourites as a result, definitely let me know! And Fruits Basket was so cute! I definitely had a think for Kyou, I felt sorry for him! The opening track was beautiful too. Thank you so much for your lovely comment 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

