Bookishness · Tags

Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag!

Hi guys! I hope you are all doing well. We are currently having a heatwave in the UK at the moment. I know that it is certainly hotter elsewhere in the world, but as a Brit I cannot handle the sun! 😛

Anyway, I am back this week with the Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag! I actually have a few tags I need to catch up on between March and May, but I saw this tag recently on Book Princess Reviews and Thrice Read‘s blogs, and I just couldn’t resist giving this a go myself.

I honestly can’t believe how quickly this year is going by! I’m not quite halfway through my reading challenge, so I definitely have a bit to catch up on, but here is what I have thought about the year so far:

****

Question 1 – The best book you’ve read so far in 2017

Ooo, this is a tricky one, as I have read a couple of stunners this year! It is definitely a tie between Red Rising (and the rest of the series) by Pierce Brown, and The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli (review to come!). They are from two completely different genres, but they are both memorable for me in so many ways ❤

15839976 30653853

Question 2 – Your favourite sequel of the year

I wont use a sequel from Brown’s trilogy above, so I’ll have to say my favourite sequel has been A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab. Schwab is a master author, and her works have such a unique tone. I love Kell and the worlds of the 4 Londons, and this was so much fun to read!

32200595

Question 3 – A new release that you haven’t read but really want to

Hmm, I was going to say The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury, but I just started this book last night! So I think my next choice is Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor. I loved her previous trilogy (Daughter of Smoke and Bone) so I’m expecting good things, but I haven’t got round to reading this new release yet, just in case I’m wrong!

29748925

Question 4 –  Most anticipated release for the second half of the year

Ahh, I wanted to say Roar by Cora Carmack, but that’s already been released this month, so it doesn’t quite work, haha! Apart from that, I’m really excited for Invictus by Ryan Graudin. After seeing how much I loved Pierce Brown’s Red Rising trilogy I’m intrigued to try more sci-fi novels, and this one looks really cool. A time-traveller who steals artefacts from the past? Certainly sounds intriguing! It’s out in September 2017, so I’ll be keeping my eye out for it 🙂

33152795

Question 5 – Your biggest disappointment 

Sadly I have to say it was Snakewood by Adrian Selby. I was convinced that this was right up my street and I love the cover, but it just didn’t do it for me. It was very confusing to read, and not at all what I expected.

Snakewood

Question 6 – Biggest surprise of the year 

For me, I was pleasantly surprised by Moondust from Gemma Fowler. I had requested a review copy via my work, and didn’t realise it was for a younger teen audience. However, I was surprised as how intriguing it was- I couldn’t stop reading! It had a lot more going on than I was expecting, and I ended up really enjoying it. Plus, the cover is gorgeous, which definitely helped.

33360888

Question 7 – Favourite new to you or debut author

Can I say Becky Albertalli again? I mean, she was a debut author last year, but I read both Simon Vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda and The Upside of Unrequited this year, and I absolutely love her work. Although I’m definitely more of a fantasy girl, Albertalli’s contemporary novels are amazing- the stories always end up making me feel so happy by the end. ❤

Question 8 – Your new fictional crush

Ooo, this is a tough one! I’m going to have to say Nikolai from the Grisha trilogy ❤ He is so noble, but you can really see how genuine and caring he is!

swoon slide guy

Question 9 – New favourite character

Hmm, definitely Sevro from Pierce Brown’s Red Rising trilogy. I love how he is so brash and rude, especially in a strict society like the Golds. He’s an unexpected hero you can’t help but love, despite his repulsive traits! 😛
spn dudeyes

Question 10 – A book that made you cry 

Oh gosh, definitely The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli. I identified so so much with this book, I couldn’t help but cry at a few scenes!

Question 11 – A comic book that made you happy

I’m going to include manga in this one- as that is my guilty pleasure 🙂 Hmm, the one that’s made me super happy is Kono Oto Tomare! by Amyuu Sakura. It isn’t a 2017 debut or anything, but whenever I see a new chapter is released, I cant help but smile. It is a music shounen drama based on the Koto instrument, and I love Chika so much!

Kono Oto Tomare!

Question 12 – Your favourite book to movie adaptation that you’ve seen this year

Honestly, I haven’t seen many movies at all- I mean I haven’t been to the cinema all year. The only book to movie adaptation I have seen this year is the DUFF on Netflix. It was okay, but definitely not a favourite of mine, as it was completely different from the book (and I loved the book).

Question 13 – Favourite book post you’ve done this year

My all time favourite posts to write are actually wrap-ups and anticipated releases, but as they happen every month I didn’t really want to specify one in this tag. So apart from those, I think my next favourite book post would have to be Why Do I Read? Writing reviews is cool and all, but I think I like being able to discuss reading in general, and stress how important it is. Unfortunately its not one of my most popular posts, but it was more of a reflection on myself as a reader anyway. I do want to create more ‘discussion topics’ in the future though!

Question 14 – The most beautiful book you have bought/received this year

Oh gosh, this one’s a toughie, as I am a sucker for beautiful covers. At the moment I adore the cover of The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury. I actually love all the covers in this series; not only are the colours gorgeous, but I adore the design of the girls floating in bottles! The Scarecrow Queen stands out to me more because of the wonderful orange tones in the background, stunning! ❤

31627294

Question 15 – What are some books you need to read by the end of the year

Oh gosh, well I recently did a tally of all the books I have bought and put on my TBR pile, and it is close to 100, so there are quite a few books I want to get to! I definitely want to finish Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy (I’ve only finished book 1 so far). I also want to read Half a King by Joe Abercrombie, Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, and Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. Of course, this is only a small selection, I have so many more to read! 🙂

 

****

Okay, so there we go! 🙂 I find this sort of summary so much fun, as it really makes me realise just how many good books I’ve been getting my nose into 😛

I’m the worst at tagging people, so please feel free to do this tag if you want to! Of course, let me know if you do, I’d love to see your answers! 🙂

5 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freakout Tag!

  1. I really need to get on reading Red Rising and The Upside. My friend read the entire series of Red Rising this year and Servo was her favorite. I literally had to hear her fangirl about him for an hour straight. XD So I’m excited to see that you enjoyed it too. And I’m super excited for Upside. 😀 And I’m super excited for Invictus as well! ❤ Wonderful post, and thanks for the mention! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh gosh, you really should! I’d say it’s a very gritty dystopian vibe, with lots of testosterone- but I loved how dramatic it was. Haha, I think Sevro gets under everyone’s skin, I love it. Oh gosh and I’d 100% recommend The Upside! Thanks for your lovely comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

