Bookishness · Books · Hauls

Spring/Summer Book Haul

Well, hello there!

So I’m back with one of my favourite type of posts: a book haul. Now, before you start telling me off as I said I was supposed to stop buying too many books, this is actually a cumulative book haul since April! Compared to the number of books I was buying when I was working with a bookstore a few months back, I actually think I’ve done pretty well 😛

So, here are all the books I have bought in the last 2-3 months:

 

Physical Books

P1040971 edit

Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

I actually bought this one on a whim, as it was only £1.99. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this series, and it’s about books! What’s not to like, right?

P1040970 edit

The Shadow of What Was Lost by James Islington

While I was still at my old workplace this series really caught my eye, as it was a new epic fantasy. With magic, war and epic journeys, I am super excited. I didn’t want to get the hardback though (it was huge!), so when the paperback was released in May, I couldn’t help but buy a copy. I’m actually really looking forward to this one! 🙂

P1040969 edit

Legion by Julie Kagawa

Okay, so this is a guilty purchase of mine. I only recently purchased Soldier in the Talon series (which I haven’t yet read), but I thought I might as well get this 4th book on publication day. I am always so conflicted with this series, as I don’t always like the writing. However, I can never stop reading this series, so I kinda had to buy this one!? I mean, I’m in too deep to the Talon saga already, right? 😛

P1040968 edit

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh

I’ve heard really good things about this YA, but I’ve just never got round to it. But there was a “Buy One Get One Half Price” offer when I went in to the store recently, and I just couldn’t resist (I needed a book to pair with the next book I’m talking about). I adore this cover, and I am certainly looking forward to see if it meets its hype 🙂

P1040967 edit

Lost Boy by Christina Henry

Oo, so I’m super excited about this one! I haven’t read any of Christina Henry’s other retellings, but this one really intrigued me. It is a Peter Pan retelling told from the perspective of Captain Hook, where Peter is essentially the secret villain? This seems really cool, and I am itching to get started on it!

P1040966 edit

A City Dreaming by Daniel Polansky

Ahh, so I am so excited for this one- I actually received it by winning my first ever Goodreads giveaway!!! ❤ I’ll admit I haven’t read a lot of Daniel Polansky’s books, but I do have a soft spot for his writing. I am so happy to add to my collection, and I love the idea of an urban (magical) fantasy in New York.

 

 

Ebooks

30811001

The Hundredth Queen by Emily R. King

I had my eye on this debut novel for a while and, when it came up on an Amazon Kindle First offer, I just couldn’t say no. This YA story is about romance, royalty and magic, in an Asian-inspired world. I have actually read this one already, and I quite enjoyed it! You can check out my review here.

33898320

Trickery by Jaymin Eve and Jane Washington

This is another book I have had my eye on, and after a few months of repeatedly looking at it on Amazon I finally caved. This is most definitely going to be a guilty pleasure- I mean, it’s a magical reverse harem after all- but I am not going in with any expectations. It has a beautiful cover though!

28458598

When Dimple met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

Okay, so this is another YA book that I have had my eye on for ages, and it has since received SO much hype. I was in two minds whether I should buy a copy though (I promise I was trying to be good with my book-buying, see!), but then Amazon were doing an offer for the ebook at 99p, so I jumped on the chance. I’m looking forward to giving this Desi contemporary a go!

****

There we have it! There are actually a few other books I have my eye on, but I am trying to resist at the moment (#unemployed). Also, YALC is next weekend, so I don’t want to spend all my money! Can’t wait to start reading these new additions to my collection though, I cant stop hoarding books at the moment 😛

 

Have you read any of these? What was the last book you bought? Let me know in the comments!

P1040975 edit

 

2 thoughts on “Spring/Summer Book Haul

Leave a Reply

