Bookishness · Books · Wrap-Ups

July Wrap-Up// August TBR

Hello everyone, how are you all?

Wow, so another month of 2017 is over. I must be getting older, as each year seems to go by waaay too quickly! July itself has been an interesting month for me, with some highs and some lows. Bookish-wise I’ve had a pretty good reading month, and I went to YALC for the second year running 🙂 It was a lot of fun, and it was so nice to feel part of the YA community in London.

With regards to my personal-life I have been feeling stuck in a rut recently. Part of that is due to being unemployed and, while I love free time to sleep and things, I have been lacking in motivation to do almost anything else. However, this is set to change as I have recently been offered a publishing job!

giphycelebrate
source: giphy.com

I have been wanting a job in this industry for such a long time now, so I am excited to start in a few weeks. Hopefully this will give me such a boost with my motivation, so all my other goals can get back on track (specifically weight-loss).

Anyway, that’s enough from me, let’s just get straight into wrapping-up July’s book updates.

****

Books I’ve Read

Okay, so for July I had set myself a fairly decent TBR list, and I think I made quite good progress! I said I was going to read Crown of Midnight, The Bone Season, Three Dark Crowns, P.S. I Still Love You, Blackwing, and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. In this end I read:

35508633
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman~
★★★☆
This was a different style of book compared to what I normally read, and it was certainly intriguing! The main character Eleanor was really unique, and it wasn’t until the second half where you see everything nicely click into place. I didn’t post a review on this blog, but you can see my thoughts on Goodreads

 

34013861
Blackwing by Ed McDonald~
★★★
I was lucky to receive an ARC of this UK fantasy debut, and it did not disappoint. With a developed world (if a little creepy), really original ideas and a wonderful array of characters, Blackwing really impressed me. I love Galharrow, and I certainly didn’t expect some of the reveals at the end!

 

 

17670709Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas~ review TBC
So I’d been really feeling a YA fantasy vibe this month, and was eager to get back into the ToG world. While there were certainly some good elements in this book, I have to admit that I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would. It was only the latter part of the book that saved it for me, that part was pretty intense!

 

 

31841420
Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake~
review TBC
I have to be honest: the cover alone has given me a soft spot for this book, even before I read it! However, I was surprised with this one, as the setting is completely different to how I imagined. I was fairly neutral about this one, although the world itself was really fun to read about. But, THAT ENDING. Definitely got me intrigued!

 

24261890
P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han~
review TBC
So I’ve been looking forward to reading this one, as I adored the first book in the series, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before. I still love all the characters, but sadly I didn’t enjoy the storyline as much, which is such a shame. It is not due to the writing though, I think it is more a personal preference!

*

So I’m pretty happy with this month. I mean, I didn’t read all of the books on my TBR, but I certainly made good progress! I didn’t have too many ‘stunners’ in July, but they were still pretty decent reads.

 

July Blog Posts

Review: The Hundredth Queen

June Wrap-Up// July TBR!

July 2017 Anticipated Releases!

Review: Song of the Current

Spring/Summer Book Haul

YALC Tips

Review: Blackwing

Review: A Shadow Bright and Burning

YALC 2017 Bumper Post/ Haul

*

In general I’m happy with my posting this month, although I’m a bit gutted that I still haven’t finished my review posts from June, let alone from July! I say this every month, but one day I’ll be back on track!!!

 

August TBR

So, I’m going to keep August quite chilled in terms of my TBR. As I mentioned I’m starting a new job this month, so I don’t know how much time I will have to read. I also found it hard to choose which books to put on my TBR for this month, not a lot stood out to me as much as they normally do. So this August I have picked out a couple of books and, if I finish them, I will see where my mood takes me for a new read.

So, this August I’m planning on reading:

P1050006 edit

  1. The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski~ So I had this on my TBR earlier in the year, but I never got round to it or felt like picking it up. However that has changed, and I am really in the mood for it now. 🙂 I’m hoping the romance element is done well, as that is the one part of the book that seems inevitable in YA 😛
  2. Lost Boy by Christina Henry~ YES. I picked this up very recently, and it seems so interesting that it jumped straight to the top of the to-read list 🙂 It is a Peter Pan retelling, that implies that Peter is actually a villain of sorts? I’m so excited!
  3. One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McManus~ A book I bought at YALC, and really want to read. I don’t read too many thrillers, so I am excited to see how it is done in a YA format. Plus I’ve only heard good things about this one!

****

And that’s my wrap-up! I’m hoping I am still productive throughout August, but at the very least I am excited to read the books on my TBR! Of course if I finish all the above books then I will choose something that takes my fancy (maybe I should finally start Six of Crows!!).

 

How was your July? What have you been reading? Do you have any goals for August? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up// August TBR

Leave a Reply

